The Life in Pink

I went to La Vie en Rose tonight, Edith Piaf's biopic, and for all its timeline-run-through-the-electric-fan hip-tude it was a pretty classic biopic, complete with a "No! Don't get on the plane!" moment (though the payoff on that was really well done). What I got from the movie was that Edith Piaf was incredibly talented, and an incredibly unpleasant pain in the neck to live with–kind of a French Judy Garland without the charming Dorothy stage. I kept thinking of Ross's pet monkey (from Friends, because I am such a highbrow).

It's a good film, really, and however much I didn't like Edith the actress who played her was amazing, flinging herself without a scrap of reserve into the character. Moments of horror were understated (see Auto Focus, or not if you're squeamish, for the full knee-deep-in-the-sewer-of-one-man's-life biopic experience) except for the creeping feeling that having a Piaf in your life would be like having an uncontrolled circular saw ripping intermittently through your house.

Once upon a time I wanted a glamorous life; now, reading this post, I realize I'm just an old fuddy-duddy. Alas.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Life in Pink

  1. pyrl says:

    Bravo! Great post! I'll be rereading this one. Thank you. Enjoyed it very much. Powerful stuff.

  2. Pyrit, aren't you in Ireland?

  3. Aubrey says:

    I always wished I could have heard the Little Sparrow sing.

  4. pyrl says:

    Leaving in a few hours!

  5. When I got home I downloaded some Piaf from emusic. I think the movie is as close as you could come–imagine a tiny pale woman in black, crippled with arthritis, hobbling on stage, pausing in the spotlight, then letting out the voice of a lion. Where the movie leaves me wanting to find a good biography is in letting us know why Piaf was important–it skips World War II completely–was she a talented mess, like Judy Garland, or was she a talented mess who represents something greater about her culture, like Elvis Presley?
    Still, thumbs up on the movie–I don't mind leaving a movie wanting to know more.

  6. Okay, good, it was you! Have fun in Ireland!
    (A powerful, rereadable post? Pfft! but thank you.)

Leave a Reply

