Blue Cake Followup 2

Thanks, y'all! If the buyer paid $85, that's $5.32/serving, figuring 16 slices, or $7.08/serving, figuring 12 slices, which seems more reasonable since it's an 8-inch cake. The Wilton yearbook says you should be able to get 20 "party slices" (bigger than "wedding slices") from an 8-inch cake but that's just crazy talk.

This is what I wanted the cake to look like:

…but maybe something even more Wedgwoody, a little more Federalist, y'know? But I ran completely out of white icing after I put on the top border (shoulda used a smaller tip), and the colored flowers were just a panicked afterthought. But somebody liked it, and better luck next cake.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blue Cake Followup 2

  1. jaypo says:

    What a beautiful, elegant cake! Federalist–purely!Your cake was lovely and you have every reason to be proud, PofT!

  2. Morgat says:

    Wow. (I keep typing half a line and erasing it and typing half a line and erasing it…) Your cakes are so gorgeous that I can't even come up with the words to say what I want to say… and I call myself an aspiring "writer"… I am just soooo impressed.
    (At the same time, I'm amused by the ads along the bottom of the page as I'm writing this… "Wedding Cake ideas"… "Baking Cake"… "Lose 15 lbs in 3 minutes"…. what a funny juxtaposition! (and what a totally impossible concept, unless you're carrying a 15 lb cat, and set it down while you have a slice of cake…)

  3. pyrl says:

    As one who has baker's block I am completely awed (really, as in gaping mouthed as I peruse your cake pics) by your beautiful, artistic cakes. They are full of originality and TLC. I bow to your superiority.

  4. Thank you! I try to be extra-liberal with the TLC, 'cause that's what really counts.

Leave a Reply

