Art lecture yesterday

Yesterday, before I went to see the kitties, I went to a lecture on campus by a visiting professor, David Sandlin:

I can appreciate the work, though it's not necessarily something I'd want in my living room (I know, that's not much better than saying "I don't know much about art, but I know what I like")–it looks to me like a cross between Howard Finster and R. Crumb. The man himself was born in Belfast but raised in Alabama from the age of 14 or so, and his appearance bears that out: he's got the swept-back Jerry Lee Lewis hair but a stumpy Irish body, and his accent is American but some of his words still sound Irish.

This was my take-away-to-think-about-later: he said when he wanted to think about something, like fatherhood or politics & religion, he would start to make drawings about it, and see what might come from it. His usual progression of work is drawing to print to painting, with various detours for silk screens and light boxes and whatnot, his work in various forms serving to edit and form the underlying ideas. It's interesting, but I'm not sure how I would emulate it, unless I started baking on themes or something…"Exploring the Reagan Era in Pound Cake." Hmmm.

These are the paintings I do have in my living room:

Sorry about the lamp in the way. The artist is Steve Keene. He's online at www.stevekeene.com.

This is the way it works: you place an order for a small or large painting, and he sends you whatever he has on hand:

For my last order I asked for one painting, and got a bazillion–I've never gotten less than three, but there's no guarantees:

You could get anything:

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Art lecture yesterday

  1. pyrl says:

    David Sandlin's style looks to me like a cross between Norman Rockwell and Mad Magazine. Nice to visit but I wouldn't want to live there.
    Nice rocker all cozy by the fireplace set up you got there. Watch out for the kitter's tails when you rock.
    Steve Keene sure is generous! With color and with sending his paintings.
    The girls want to play with the paper. Hurry up and tear it off!

  2. Morgat says:

    I wanna see the results of "Exploring the Reagan Era in Pound Cake".

  3. Aubrey says:

    I thought of Goya's 'Saturn Devouring His Children'.
    I have issues.
    And I just ate a banana-flavored Twinkie. So I'm not feeling my best right now.

  4. Poor dear! Would a bit of Fragonard and a Tums make you feel better?

  5. Aubrey says:

    With a Vermeer chaser? Please!

Leave a Reply

