Pirate Cake, Yar!

This was my first friend-of-a-friend referral, asking for a pirate ship cake made of vanilla pound cake with cream cheese icing.

Also I have to mop the kitchen floor now.

I had to make some extra cake to make sure it would feed 40 people, so I had the bad idea to make the ship separately, while the extra baked and cooled:

 

 

The ship didn't survive launch, though:

The back end eventually fell completely off, and had to be rebuilt:

It's just scraps and icing for spackle back there, but it stayed up.

 

 

 

I'm hoping the Birthday Parents (the birthday boy is 3) think the marooned bear is cute, not creepy.

As always, our products are strictly supervised:

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Pirate Cake, Yar!

  1. arbed says:

    hahaha the teddy grahams, esp as figurehead, slay me!

  2. Morgat says:

    May I lick the counter, please?

  3. snoringKatZ says:

    Peg, you are a cake goddess! I know where I'm going for my next Darthbob Vaderpants :)That ship is just awesome and the Teddy Grahams are way too cute! Perfect!

  4. pyrl says:

    [This is so wrong]

  5. Aw, that's just powdered sugar gone foomp! [offers bowl of icing] Here. Just a lick, now.

  6. Wrong? [big eyes, trembly lip]

  7. Thanks! I saw them on a swimming pool cake in a woman's magazine, wearing little icing swimming trunks, and I've been waiting to use them somewhere…

  8. Thank you! I was just glad it didn't fall apart on the way to the party. Did you ever post your cake pictures?

  9. pyrl says:

    Only a rum cake will do.

  10. Yo ho ho! But the Birthday Pirate was only three, and I'm sure he got wired enough on sugar to cause rum-drinking-like symptoms.

  11. snoringKatZ says:

    Just for you… the storyAt least I had fun! 🙂 Thanks for all your helpful advice. If I try again, I definitely know what NOT to do – hahahaha!

  12. Lurkertype says:

    The Teddy Grahams are PERFECT!

  13. Lauri says:

    Holy Crow's Nest!! I missed this when you posted it, and as I was commenting on your kitties, the post title "pirate cake,yar" caught my eye! I am sure glad it did!!!How FUN!I am sure the Birthday Pirate was absolutely thrilled!!!Lol at the Teddy Grahams!!

  14. Laurie says:

    I love the chocolate cannon. Is that a Tootsie roll?

  15. zhy says:

    This season, shorter boots are back with a vengeance, making our Classic Short ugg boots and our Ultra Short ugg (links to products) two obvious must-haves. You can also get uggs and other different sheepskin accessories. ugg cardy boots has many popular styles that are enjoyed by people around the world. Consider ugg cardy if you and your family live in a cold climate because they come in handy when temperatures dip below zero.

Leave a Reply

