Knitting rabies

Last week I decided I should take up knitting, so I went to the store and bought some needles and yarn–I bought big needles, so I could knit really fast:

You can't see the dropped stitches or the knot that marks the spot where Sukey chewed the yarn in two (more problematic is that she eats yarn like spaghetti, which calls for Constant Vigilance). My grandmother taught me the knitting stitch back when I was in elementary school, but a knitting friend pointed me to www.knittinghelp.com for helpful videos that taught me purling…

…which I decided not to use for my first knitting project, a scarf:

The bottom edge is ragged but that's what fringe is for. I figure that at seven rows/inch, 50 stitches/row, if the scarf is 36" long it will take 12,600 stitches…did I mention that my house is the home of the dead unfinished project?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Knitting rabies

  1. Morgat says:

    I have tried to be a knitter. I have been unsuccessful in this endeavor. I wish you much joy and success and not too many yarns-eaten-by-Sukey!

  2. snoringKatZ says:

    I think we might be knitted from the same scarf. Except the only knitting I've actually figured out is finger knitting (fun but essentially long skinny strands of yarn that might be good belts). I do crochet but only in frenzied bursts, starting four things and finishing… one? Maybe?I don't want to discuss the countertop, the flooring, the shade canopy or the yard. That would be the tip of the many unfinished projects iceberg I call home.

  3. snoringKatZ says:

    and also – good for you! I can't operate those needles worth a darn! or a purl…

  4. Lurkertype says:

    My mother could (and did) knit anything. It's not genetic, though. I started a scarf in 7th grade and it ended up about half the length of your scarf there.

  5. lauowolf says:

    I'm too obsessive to knit.I get tenser and tenser as I knit.The last time I knitted stuff I actually made my wrist sore.I think it's supposed to be relaxing, so I decided it wasn't a good thing for me to do.

  6. Beadknitter says:

    Wow! You're doing great for a first project. Keep it up. Knitting is addictive. I know cos I'm an addict.

Leave a Reply

