A breach of the social contract

A little Transformer told me "No! You get CANDY for Halloween!"

I gave out bottles of bubbles. This is what I have left:

I had 80 and some kids took two, so I figure I had 60-65 kids tonight.

The little Transformer appealed to his mother ("CANDY! You get CANDY!") but she was on my side.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A breach of the social contract

  1. Lauri says:

    No way!!!Kids need to think outside the box!! Good for you!We live out in da "country". No trick or treaters. But, I do know that I love to expose my nephew and niece to different ways of seeing everything! :))))))

  2. Laurie says:

    The kid needs to know that when it's free and it's a voluntary handout, you get what you're given.

  3. Metz says:

    shoot my kids get excited by the stuff that isn't candy. Lil boy is going around wearing a silly skull plastic ring he got tonight.
    They actually TURNED DOWN extras from a lady who wanted to give tehm extra cause they looked so cute. šŸ™‚ "No thank you, you might need it for the others." (oO)

  4. The boy was so wee he wouldn't want to think outside of the box, he would want to play with the box.

  5. I don't think he was seeing "gift," I think he was seeing "clear wanton disregard of the rules of Halloween." I was doing it wrong; perhaps he wanted to help by pointing it out. His mother was suitably horrified by his reaction and got him back down the sidewalk for a learning moment as soon as she could.

  6. Aubrey says:

    A skull plastic ring???
    I want!
    But your kids are so level-headed and kind, I wouldn't want to raise a ruckus.
    Still. For the record, I want that ring.

  7. Lauri says:

    I just now remembered when my youngest was about four, and he was dressed as a Ninja with a sword. We went up to a door, and a man was leaning in the doorway handing out candy and smoking. Aaron put his sword right up to the man's neck (he could just barely reach) and hollered "He's smoking ciggy-rettes". Lol!!

  8. Annie says:

    HEhehe Well I have been doing it rong for years we have given out rings, crayons, and other trinkets for years. We live in the country now too so we only get about 20-30 trick or treaters so I usually give out goodie bags(they are all kids we know) Last year I gave out jewelry kits or little cars or Planes.
    This year I gave out PlayDoh and a chocolate candy. All the kids love it even the older ones. The rings are always a big hit. WE have done bat rings, spider rings and skull rings. Hmmm Bubbles is a great Idea.

  9. I noticed that some crazy homeowner was giving out party horns this year…probably someone without kids.

Leave a Reply

