The late lamented

It's a little late for All Souls Day or Day of the Dead, but I've been cleaning out some drawers and found some pictures of my first cat, Gypsy Rose Lee:

She was fourteen years old and she'd just been diagnosed with diabetes, so I found a student worker at the library who'd take a pictures of her. It's not a great printout and I don't have a great scanner, so it's a little more atmospheric than I'd like (these were probably taken 10 years ago, in the early days of digital photography too).

She was Not Amused at being taken out of her home just for pictures. She was a tiny, fine-boned girl, who always kept her paws shiny white. She was also an editorial barfer–any time I did something she disapproved of she'd hork up a hairball in the middle of my bed.

Sally Rand went with us:

She might have been four. As soon as she was let out of her carrier Sally took off to explore the photographer's house. She pretty much takes things in stride.

In the same drawer I found the $20 that my grandmother gave me on her last Christmas (three years ago now?), and the program from her funeral. I'm not entirely sure what to do with the money–it doesn't seem right to just use it for lunch money.

I also found while I was straightening my cedar chest that I have four black cardigans, but they're all different, so I don't have too many, really.

Edited to add: Make that five black cardigans. But all different. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The late lamented

  1. Lurkertype says:

    "editorial barfer"! My BFF had one of those.The juxtaposition leads me to think that you should spend the $20 on something for the kitties.also, love the banner!

  2. jaypo says:

    Beautiful girlies! Gypsy does look so … opinionated. ;-)Sally is sweet and pretty. I'm partial to the floofers.

  3. Morgat says:

    Gypsy was beautiful. (Of course, Sally is, too.)
    I'd spend the $20 on a special treat, or something special for your home.

  4. Annie says:

    Maybe spend the $20 on something in rememberance of your grandma. Something she would have liked you to have or do. Something decadent and fun all for $20 of course.

    Seriously though something special. And the kitty pictures are quite beautiful with a Painted look to them.

  5. snoringKatZ says:

    Peg, she's lovely. You can see that she's quite a grand old lady. The funky lighting/exposure/scanning effect just adds to her dreaminess.That $20 is for … something. I tend to hold onto 'found' money because it always seems like something presents itself at some point and the money says, "Now. That's for you and I will take care of it."

  6. Laurie says:

    How about spending the $20 on frames for some of these photos so you can put them around your place? Or treats for local kitties in her name?
    She's quite lovely, and though you don't like how the scans turned out, I think it looks like she's been rendered in pencil on canvas. I'm sorry you lost her.

  7. lauowolf says:

    Yes, I love the way these turned out.They look like charcoal sketches.And a nice frame for Gypsy Rose could be a good use for the money.I like to turn gift money into a thing, myself.

  8. Aubrey says:

    The photos of Gypsy, especially #1, look like lithographs, or linen postcards.
    And Sally2 looks like an imprint on fabric, like – not to be morbid, but – The Shroud of Purrin'?

  9. I'm laughing! That shot is a little more mysterious because Sally wouldn't stand still–too much to see and do! But it gets her eyes right.

Leave a Reply

