Reading when I ought to be doing lots of other things…

…but I really liked this book. Sword fights! Adolescent angst! Fancy dress! Swish! Buckle! Point! Hah!

I had to read the author note in the back to realize that the author, Ellen Kushner, is the Ellen Kushner who hosts Sound & Spirit on NPR, which I have kind of a love-hate relationship with. But the book is good.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Reading when I ought to be doing lots of other things…

  1. Hillary says:

    Is this a young adult type of book? I'm a high school teacher always looking for new ones πŸ™‚

  2. Katherine and many other characters are sixteenish, but the grownups in the book do many grownup things with many kinds of people which are not graphic but not shaded with ambiguity, either. There's a bit of Sexual Awakening too. I'd call it as PG13 as Judy Blume's Forever though it's not focused on one relationship. Does that help?

  3. Hillary says:

    Immensely. Thanks πŸ™‚ I'll pick it up…bet my more mature ones would like it.

  4. If I were 16, I'd'a loved it, though there's a scene in a male brothel I might not have known what to do with, but kids today…? The back of the book says Swordspoint and The Fall of the Kings are related books by the same author–from the titles I'd say The Fall of the Kings is the legendary past of the setting, and Swordspoint is the story of what the grownups in Privilege did when they were young.

  5. Aubrey says:

    This looks sort of 17th century. It isn't Dawson's Creek meets the English Civil War, is it?
    Does Katherine impatiently toss her hair in fits of pique?
    But your recommendation goes far with me. And the male brothel does sound promising.

  6. It's 17th century-ish in a made-up world, but there's no sorcery or anything. The details of the world seem logical, not precious, and not trotted in to prove the author did her research. I never saw Dawson's Creek so I can't speak to that, but if there's any girlish fits of pique, the girls get over themselves. In the brothel you see a character you like "testing his limits", as the book calls it, in heavy face paint and fancy dress, and when I was 16, that, um, would have been something new to think about, but that was a long time ago in a very sheltered place. Let's say the book presents an array of relationships among consenting adults without criticism. I need to track down the other two now…

  7. Lauri says:

    This sounds totally fascinating and lots of fun! I will definitely add it to my list…..urgh….too many books, not enough time!!!

  8. To be read pile growing, tottering…oh, yes, I'm there too. I hope you like the book–I can honestly say I didn't know how it would end, and that's pretty rare.

  9. Lauri says:

    Ooooh, it's always a treat to have one that surprises you! I'll even move it higher up in the pile! πŸ˜‰

  10. Lauri says:

    Hmmm, I wonder if Ellen Kushner is related to Rabbi Harold Kushner of the "When Bad Things Happen to Good People" fame?Not that there aren't probably millions of "Kushner's" out there!

Leave a Reply

