Waiting to learn Teh Secret

I hear the fan club memberships are going in the mail.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Waiting to learn Teh Secret

  1. pyrl says:

    I'm on the verge of giving up. I am trying but I don't get it. Don't tell me yet.And here's what you must tell me; are those shortbread candy cane cookies and if so do you think the cookie curse would befall me if I tried to make them?

  2. I don't have teh secret yet, so I can't tell anything…
    I made the candy canes for the first time last year, and I don't have the recipe handy, but I remember it used lots of butter, and the dough needed a lot of chilling at various stages to keep its shape. There's pictures, in no sequence at all, in the Christmas '06 set on Flickr:
    Lumps of dough
    Let me know if you'd like the recipe!

  3. pyrl says:

    Yes, the recipe please. As long as it is no trouble though. Don't go to the effort of typing it all out on my behalf. My cookie cooking tends to be criminal.The Flickr set!!! Oh! My! (wow)

  4. This looks right:
    http://jas.familyfun.go.com/recipefinder/display?id=15060
    …but what it doesn't tell you is that it helps to chill the dough and keep it cold so it's not so sticky to roll out, and so it doesn't spread when it bakes. What I did was:
    1) make the dough balls (I used a small scoop, like Alton Brown says to)
    2) chill the dough balls
    3) removing only one or two balls from the fridge at a time, shape the cookies
    4) put the pan of shaped cookies in the freezer for a few minutes (to keep them from spreading in the oven, like Martha Stewart says to)
    5) bake the cookies
    I think there was something about grinding up candy canes to use as the sparkly topping too…I'll see if I can find the recipe I used tonight.

Leave a Reply

