Holiday Countdown Calendar anyone?

When I was young my brother and I had calendars to count down the days to Christmas–they were scenes with little numbered doors to prise open, one every day from December 1 to 24. Behind the door would be a picture or, if it was a really fancy calendar, a piece of chocolate.

So…what would you all say to counting down to whatever winter holidays you celebrate with a post every day, pictures or text, just to share the joys of your season?

Here's my first entry:

 

…and a logo if one is needed, though it isn't laughing like the NaBloMo cat:

Anybody wanna play? Invite your friends!

And oh, because the holidays aren't always sweetness and light:

…this could be useful too.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Holiday Countdown Calendar anyone?

  1. jaypo says:

    You had an Advent calendar, PoT! I made an origami one last year. I suppose I should put it up. Very cute pics!

  2. Lurkertype says:

    I had Advent calendars too. The chocolate ones were the best.I have one my mom made, which is a Christmas tree with felt ornaments, but as my animals will think it's a source of 24 cat toys, I don't have it up.A cheerful B&W kitty and a grumpy tortie. Now where do I see that every day, hmmm? 🙂

  3. Oh, yes, ours were Advent calendars, I'm just curious about other holidays too, so…Saturnalia? Tell me about the Phrygian caps and garum!
    With your origami calendar, did you have to fold something new every day?

  4. My mom does cross stitch ornaments for us every year–I hang them from the ceiling so the girls won't love them too much. Gotta do that this weekend.
    Humbug tortie? Oh yes.

  5. Morgat says:

    I'm in. I already posted a pre-Christmas "How's this?" today — does that count? It doesn't have a countdown cat on it…

  6. Yay! That's a fine post! Thank you for playing!
    I don't know how to pass on the countdown cats other than the right-click/save to disk thing.

  7. Morgat says:

    Is it okay if I use him? The Countdown Cat, I mean? I could just right click/copy him once, and then once I have him on my blog, I could just copy him each time. Would that be permissible? Or I could just use Panther, he looks sorta Cat-like…. 😉

  8. Oh absolutely! Feel free! and humbug cat too!

  9. pyrl says:

    Ack, tempting. But do I have the energy to do a post one hour before midnight? (Yay for advent calendars!)

  10. It's supposed to be fun, not one more bit of holiday homework! Post when you can, I know you're busy!

  11. jaypo says:

    I made origami Christmas images and tiny envelopes to put them in. Each day I opened an envelope, pulled out the image, and thought about what it meant for me. It was fun.

Leave a Reply

