Christmas party cake

Chocolate layers sandwiching peppermint layers. It's supposed to be a festive tree shape, but at this point I'm a little worried:

I've never done a colored crumb coat, either:

…and I might not do it again. It was hard to cover.

I feel better once the green is on:

Finished, it's not bad, but I'm afraid the star might fall down during transport:

The star is made of Dots and toothpicks. The "ornaments" are M & Ms, because they go well with everything. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Christmas party cake

  1. that's pretty frickin cool right there!

  2. TreeSweater says:

    What a fabulous (and yummy) looking cake!

  3. RedScylla says:

    Neat! I've never had peppermint cake before, but I would definitely eat a slice of that.

  4. Aubrey says:

    Could you put the star in at the last moment?
    And could you give me the leftovers?
    In addition to EVERY and ANY and ALL M&M's you happen to see lying around?
    Bootiful cake, Peg!

  5. Brown Suga' says:

    It's lovely, but I'd have eaten it at the first stage itself!
    And I LOVE M&Ms.

  6. Laurie says:

    What a lovely cake! And I'm thinking peppermint cake — YUM! I'll try that.

  7. pyrl says:

    When transporting Christmas trees, many people tie them to the roof of their car. Just a suggestion. But maybe you have a better way. You could, in this case, transport the people to the tree instead. Or, (ding! ding! ding!) I know! This tree should be eaten first and transported in one's tummy. Mine.

Leave a Reply

