Pour Gato, pas Gateau

Peppermint Pound Cake

 

1 cup shortening

2 cups sugar

4 eggs

1 tsp peppermint extract

1/2 tsp salt

3 cups flour

3/4 cup buttermilk

1 tsp soda

1 TBL vinegar

1/4 cup peppermint candy, crushed

1/2 tsp red food coloring

powdered sugar

 

Cream shortening and sugar. Add eggs, one at a time. Add extract and salt and mix well. Add flour alternately with buttermilk. Mix soda and vinegar and add to mixture. Blend well. Fold in peppermint candy. Add red coloring by pulling a spoon through the batter a few times. Pour into a greased and floured 9 or 10-inch tube pan. Bake at 325F for 1 hour, or until done. Cool in pan 10 minutes. Remove from pan and dust with powdered sugar.

 

If your tube/bundt pan is really heavy you might want to let your cake cool in the pan longer than 10 minutes. A nice chocolate glaze is much better than a dusting with powdered sugar.

 

I got this recipe from a Humane Society cookbook, which says this recipe is "dedicated to the memory Gato, a gray tabby sweetheart." This recipe is more like a red velvet cake than a traditional pound cake, since it uses shortening instead of butter and baking soda + vinegar for leavening. I thought the cupcakes were a little dry, though people liked them, so I might add a couple of tablespoons of vegetable oil next time.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pour Gato, pas Gateau

  1. jaypo says:

    I'd love a piece of this with good strong black tea! All for dear Gato..I love Red Velvet cake but can't get past the bitterness of the food coloring. Any ideas for subs?

  2. I read somewhere that red velvet cake was originally colored with beets but I wouldn't want to try that.
    The red velvet cake recipe I use calls for 2 2oz bottles of red food coloring, but it's a pretty old recipe, and I think newer ones I've found on the web only call for half that. Wilton makes a paste color called "no-taste red" that could be diluted with water or vodka to make up the 4oz of liquid–I don't think you'd need the whole jar of color, either. Ateco is the other brand of food colors, but you can usually get Wilton at Michael's and Wal-Mart.
    I made a green velvet cake once:

    Supplies for a green velvet cake
  3. jaypo says:

    That green cake is amazing, looks like a spinach cake but of coure it tasted much better though Popeye may not think so. And I totally get the Belleek thing! I hope it was eaten on Belleek plates… :-)We have a Michaels right down the road. I'll look for Wilton coloring there, thank you for the lead!

  4. Thank you! The cake was eaten, but I don't think Belleek has a line of paper plates yet. The green dye took a couple of days to make it through the system, about which I will not go into detail, but which caused much hilarious comment.
    Michael's, for shoppin' in a Wilton wonderland! Aah.

Leave a Reply

