Attend the Tale of Sweeney Todd

…that's what I did, this afternoon. Blood flew through the air like watermelon juice at a Gallagher concert–I watched hunched down to my glasses in my hooded sweatshirt. Very good film, and Johnny Depp was creepy-cool, but his voice was one of the weakest in the cast (my choir teacher would have cried "Scooping! Scooping!" more than once, but in real life he sings with a rock band, not on Broadway). Thumbs up if you like Tim Burton's sense of humor.

The matinee started with a full 3.5 minute National Guard ad masked as a music video, then went on to a preview for a film called Stop Loss about a soldier who the Army won't quite let go. Crazy world (in a bad way).

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Attend the Tale of Sweeney Todd

  1. Lauri says:

    Good post, though.I agree completely about Sweeney Todd. I was all psyched up, or down, as you wish, to see it, and I DID enjoy it. But, it's not something I would want to watch again, or listen to again.I laughed at Tim Burton's sense of humor, and I loved the visuals, the videography. I heard that Johnny really hasn't sung before…he plays bass in a rock band (what I heard), so I really thought he did "alright" with the singing. But, not for a "singer". I enjoyed the movie. My hubby was all "We wasted money to see that?" I told him…"Well, it's Tim Burton. You have to be prepared."Lol!

  2. Lauri says:

    *snort*"watermelon juice at a Gallagher concert". I just go that. Yes, I AM slow. 😛

  3. Lurkertype says:

    Off topic, but I love seeing your banner change each month!

  4. I listened to the Broadway soundtrack a lot in my Sondheim phase–I still love the music, and Tim Burton more than did it justice, but it's hard to make the switch when you expect the singers to boom it out to the back of the theater.
    So Depp's the bass player? Always the coolest…

  5. Aubrey says:

    I want to see it for the visuals – for the sepias and the reds. I get all odd and squirmy with the sight of cinematic gore but the talents (and clothes!) involved simply fascinate me.
    Must go. Will go.

  6. If you wait for the DVD you can buzz through the squirmy parts, but there's a swooping-through-London bit at the beginning that I think needs the big screen–the gratuitous part is while Sweeney is singing "Johanna," musically meditating on his daughter while slicing customers left and right, so you might want to get popcorn or something during that.
    The actor playing Antony the sailor is a dead ringer for Claire Daines, which is a little distracting, but he has a lovely voice.

  7. Lauri says:

    The visuals WERE lovely. Er….might not be a good choice of words…but very enjoyable nonetheless.I viewed some of the gore through squinted eyes. A few of suspenseful moments were also through the slit of an eye….I really did enjoy the whole thing!I know exactly what you are saying about not having the "power" voices, Peg. I was totally unfamiliar with the music, so I didn't have any comparison for that. Joanna and Antony had wonderful voices.

Leave a Reply

