QotD: I’m Biting My Tongue

What are 10 things you want to say out loud but you can't? 
Submitted by alix.

1. No.

2. Please stop talking.

3. Driving a large truck does not equal having the right of way.

4. Being asked to accomodate others does not mean you're being persecuted.

5. Spelling counts. Grammar counts too. If you use the word "incentivize" in speech or writing I will stick a fork in your eye.

6. I can't help you with your writing unless you're willing to listen to criticism. Just writing is not cause for congratulation.

7. I love my cats, but please don't buy me things with cats on them (unless they're really cool).

8. Most things are not about you (or about me, either).

9. The mainstream sucks.

10. We are human only to the extent that we are humane.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to QotD: I’m Biting My Tongue

  1. Laurie says:

    As I started reading your list, I began mentally beginning one of my own. And what I would have put at #1, you have right there at #8. I'm with you on pretty must all of your list.

  2. pyrl says:

    #2! #2! #2!I like #4Feel free to #5 me any time. Oh to be critiqued by Peg…or Laurie!#8 You've lost me on this one…;-)I like the fork in your eye imagery!

  3. Lauri says:

    YAY to #5!!!I want to stick a fork in the eye of our management that keeps using the word "manifest". STOP IT!!!

  4. Lauri says:

    I love 'em all, P!

  5. pyrl says:

    #2 – I was raised to never say "shut up". Thank you Mom & Dad.#5 – I love all my co-workers (for true) but one of my most beloved ones used, "going forward" in an email. Broke my heart. I called her in for a meeting and told her if she ever did that again I could not be her friend any more. Drastic I know but I had to get her back on solid ground.I still don't get #8…

  6. Mom still doesn't like "shut up" or "sucks." I can do without shut up but sucks is just so expressive…
    #8: We like it when things are about you, 'cause that means grog all around! I just mean things go better when I stop thinking how they'll affect me and focus on how to get them done. If you're working with someone who can't do that you might as well just hang up your socks and go home, or do it yourself. Short form: self-absorbed = head up the @ss.
    I love my co-workers too, and sometimes they teach me cool new phrases, like "fixin' to", "might could", and "mash that button."

  7. It's a question that kinda touched that seething pot of resentment simmering in the back of my lizard-brain–it's a little worrisome.

Leave a Reply

