Quince: an elusive subject

This is a quince bush:

This is the pretty part of its life cycle. The rest of the summer it's a bush. In the winter it's a pile of sticks.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Quince: an elusive subject

  1. lauowolf says:

    I have a hedge of these.I just love them.Most years a local Chinese family comes and cuts some for New Year's, but I didn't see them this year.The blooms last a long time; sometimes even lingering when the leaves start coming in too.The flowers fade out to a softer pink over time.And they have long spiny thorns.And my two semi-feral boy cats have a fort under the bush and go out there to hang out and be wild together.(I think "being wild" consists of sitting around watching people walk by.)

  2. snoringKatZ says:

    CLOSEUP setting! Why didn't I think of that?!? Maybe I can get a shot of a forsythia flower that isn't a yellow blob with sticks in focus a foot behind it.Peg, you think of everything. And quince (for now) is quite lovely!

  3. jaypo says:

    A lovely sight to see on an icy, rainy, cold day.

  4. Morgat says:

    What pretty flowers!
    (Close-up setting? she asks wonderingly… I wonder if my camera has any such thing… nah, prolly not.)

  5. Thanks! On my camera the close-up (sometimes called "macro" by people who use bigger words than me) is marked with a little flower. It looks like the international symbol for a tulip.

Leave a Reply

