Happy artist, happy pictures

The last time I was at the National Gallery in Washington I saw a poster of this painting in a gift shop, but didn't get it because I hadn't actually seen the painting before, I had a lot of miles in a crowded car to travel, and I was with my mother, who hates to see me spend money, and with my dad, who thinks I have too much stuff cluttering up my house already…but look! It's a painting of cake! and it would be lovely in my kitchen!

In the New York Times Sunday Book Review this week there's a biography of the artist, Wayne Thiebaud, written for children. A review of the book is here. A slideshow of the first seven pages is here.

I think I bought a book of postcards of his work at a different gallery. I wonder where they are?

"I was a spoiled child. I had a great life, so about the only thing I can do is paint happy pictures." —WAYNE THIEBAUD

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy artist, happy pictures

  1. Morgat says:

    You definitely need a painting of cake in your kitchen. Get thee to Washington! Go! Buy that print! Take it home!

  2. Laurie says:

    I'm with Morgat. How could you not have this picture?

  3. pyrl says:

    You must have eet!

Leave a Reply

