Easter presents

From the girls (the picture may be familiar):

For my family, because this year Easter coincides with those other high holy days, the NCAA Big Dance. We're meeting up in Birmingham for rounds 1 & 2 (I'm going so I can see my family, and they'll be watching basketball. I'll be in the stands, but I hear bringing a book is impolite.) They're Cadbury bars, in assorted flavors, but now the original labels are off it's all a great big surprise. The picture came from a box of basketballs for sale at Kroger:

These were supposed to be "thumbprint" cookies, dabbed with lemon curd and filled with jelly beans:

The dough was supposed to be rolled into balls, then dipped in eggwhite and some kind of crunchy topping. Unfortunately the dough was too soft to roll, so I put the tray in the freezer for a few minutes, after which the dough was too hard to roll.

I was supposed to bake them for five minutes, then put in the thumbprint:

After five minutes, already flat. Done they weren't much better:

Sigh. The recipe called for 1 cup of sifted flour, which was probably not enough flour, and 1/2 cup of shortening, but I used butter, which I think melted faster than shortening might (though I would have thought the freezing would have taken care of that).

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Easter presents

  1. Morgat says:

    The choccy bars look great! (I especially like the Sukey and Sally Easter bonnetz ones, of course…)
    1/2 cup of shortening/butter/whatever sounds like way too much for 1 cup of flour, to me. It's too bad, because the *idea* of the cookies is great! I had a similar cookie meltdown once, and it was the fault of the butter. No, actually it was the fault of the Morgat, who read the recipe wrong and put in twice the amount than the recipe called for.

  2. Lurkertype says:

    Definitely the butter. But that'll make them taste yummy.I see S&S don't speak LOLCat to the family. šŸ™‚

  3. Yes, I had to run the balloons through google translator for them šŸ™‚ .

  4. If I have time I'm going to try again with 1 cup of flour, unsifted, and see where that gets me–I'll just add flour until the dough behaves.

Leave a Reply

