Sunday project

Today's cake goes to a goodbye dinner for a nice couple from the Sunday school class I've been going to. I think I'm going to tell the class sorry, it's not you, it's me, because although they're nice people there's just no helping that I'm the least married, most childless, and happiest Obama voter in the room, and I'm not crazy about the study materials (good part: just long enough to read over your cereal Sunday morning; bad part: insisting Christians are persecuted, which I'm sure happens in the world but isn't something a bunch of welloff white Presbyterians should feel is happening to them, and having to share space with other faiths isn't persecution no matter how it offends you) but these two people have been really nice and I'm always happy to bake for anybody. The leader of the class has built up expectations for the cake a little more than I like, but she's a sweet person.

The couple who are moving like to go bicycle riding, so that's the theme of the cake. The dinner will be at a restaurant that's known for its strawberry ice cream pie (with coconut crust, yum!) so the cake is vanilla with a strawberry jelly filling in case anyone wants to have both.

My new baking toy is called a cookie shovel, according to its label, but it's big enough to make moving cake layers easy and I bet it's heavy enough to move a bundt cake.

I piped little chocolate bicycles to go over the sides of the cake:

The cake is a little, um, a bit, um, a lot more green than I had in mind. Green like peas.

Also piping names is not my strong point. I'm about 97% sure that the names of the bicycling couple really is John and Mary, but that 3% is keeeeelling me.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sunday project

  1. Laurie says:

    I should think that anyone who takes the time to pipe 72 chocolate bicycles for decoration gets a pass on possibly mis-piping the names. Those bikes are so cute!

  2. Annie says:

    So cute and so yummy sounding and I love the green icing it goes with the bikes.

  3. Thanks–I only used half the bicycles, but that should cover making "Mary" look like "Murry", anyway.

  4. Lauri says:

    Wow!!!! Those leetle bicycles ARE so adorable!I like your thoughts on the Sunday school class. I have gotten to the point that I can't barely set foot in a church anymore. Too much bothers me. 😛

Leave a Reply

