Just like my neighbors

Like Aubrey, I had a birthday this weekend, on Sunday. I'm not old enough to remember the Kennedy assassination, but my mother was laying on the couch with me-induced morning sickness when it happened. I'm feeling rather antique.

Like Laurie, I've been having a bit of staycation, which is a lovely thing, but unlike Laurie I haven't accomplished anything substantial.

Like BrownAmazon, Mercury has been in retrograde for me–not anything like job loss or family crises, but more like my replacement new cellphone also heating up with use in an alarming manner, and the salesman trying to tell me that was just how it operated (he was much more helpful when I was looking like a sales commission). Or my birthday dinner ending with a trip to the emergency vet when one of my friend's cats got sick (he's fine now–he had a bad reaction to a cat bite, and needed an anti-inflammatory shot and a round of antibiotics). Or the truck taking my pap smear to the lab blowing a tire and rolling into a ditch, which means I have to go in for another one next month. Nibbling by the bad kharma ducks, that's all I'm saying.

Here's some good things:

 

The Kon-Tiki is in Tucson, AZ–we went there for Christmas a couple of years ago, so Paul sent me one of their exotic drink cups.

My friend K made me yummy cupcakes:

CoooooCoooooNuuuttt…[Homer Simpson noises]

Knowing how I drive, Mom and Dad gave me a GPS unit:

This was prompted by my last trip through Atlanta, when I missed the exit to Birmingham three times. They let me open it early, because I was going to Atlanta on Saturday, and it was really nice to be hearing where to find the two yarn shops I was looking for (both were closed, thanks Mercury) instead of trying to drive while reading a map. The voice of the GPS lady is kind of bossy, though–she'd say Turn left in one thousand feet and I'd say Yes ma'm.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Just like my neighbors

  1. mariser says:

    happiest of birthdays, darlink!I dont' think of meself as old, but since I was (totteringly) walking when JFK went down, I must not be fooling anyone else.!yay! for staycations!!it must be sweet to eat cupcakes created by the sweat of someone else's brow.

  2. arbed says:

    happy birthday!!

  3. Brown Suga' says:

    Happy Birthday, Peg o'T! The cupcake looks lovely, as does your brother's b-day prezint.

  4. snoringKatZ says:

    Happiest birthday, Peg! You got the bestest stuff from your loving ones and your Ooblik looks quite fetching in that hat. May I Homer your cupcakes as well?

  5. Laurie says:

    Happy belated birthday, Peg!

  6. Thank you! I don't know what recipe was used to make those cupcakes, but they were teh awesome.

  7. Thank you! I should probably put the hat away but I like how it looks there. And the cupcakes were very Homer-worthy!

  8. pyrl says:

    Belatedly wishing Peg a very happy birthday! Have a great year!

  9. TreeSweater says:

    Happy belated birthday from me, as well!

  10. Drude says:

    Yay, happy birthday! Lots of good things, hope you get millions more!!!

  11. Aubrey says:

    I belatedly beat everyone!
    Happy birthday, darling Peg!!
    Want leftover cupcakes!

  12. Morgat says:

    Better late than never! Happy birthday either late or verrrrrrry early…
    You got good presents. (Including a Useful Pot for Putting Paws In, I see… …)

Leave a Reply

