Thrilling in vanilling

This cake is for a lymphoma society fundraiser bake sale/silent auction, the Thrilla in Vanilla. The splat/smooth frosting idea came from The Whimsical Bakehouse, and the Oreos = sunflowers idea came from Hello, Cupcake!

The frosting is splatted onto the cake and put in the refrigerator to firm up a bit, then smoothed with a big spatula that's been dipped in hot water.

Too much blending of orange and green makes an icky brown, so you have to be careful.

 

 

The centers on the little flowers are chocolate chips. Hello, Cupcake! recommended two layers of petals for the sunflowers, one around the edge of the cookie, and another layer on top of that. The cake is chocolate with an Oreos/buttercream filling. I'm afraid the cookies will be mushy by tomorrow morning, but maybe that will just make it easier to serve…

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Thrilling in vanilling

  1. Morgat says:

    This is fantabulous! And thanks for showing us all the steps — I found it absolutely fascinating (but I'm gonna stick to drooling, and continue to let you do all the actual cake making/creating/decorating).

  2. Laurie says:

    So cool! And I really like that you show us all the steps, too.

  3. IG says:

    Wow. This is really gorgeous. And…buttercreamy. OMG.

  4. YGRS says:

    ooh!! They all look yummy!!* drools *&:oP

  5. pyrl says:

    Sunflowers. My favorite. Yours turned out beautyoseau.(FYI, there are mini-Oreos.)

  6. jaypo says:

    One of the best you've made, Peg, just beautiful–and resolutely cheerful indeed! Even if I can't have a piece, it makes me smile big.

  7. TreeSweater says:

    It's really pretty finished, but I also liked the splodgy, patchwork splat look!

  8. Thanks! You do all those dioramas and stuff, so I'd think you'd like to do cakes too!

  9. Thank you! I used up the mini-oreos on the UGA cake, though–it woulda been nice to have flowers of different sizes on the top. I'm going to start saying "beautyoseau" now!

  10. Thank you! I'm hoping its resolute cheerfulness will get me past having to deliver it way-too-early before work tomorrow.

  11. Annie says:

    Wow it is so beautiful. I too love that you shared the steps to making it and that Splat smooth frosting is really cool I am gonna have to try it next time a make a cake.

  12. Brown Suga' says:

    Amazing! I particularly love the idea of putting oreos as the flower centres.

Leave a Reply

