A typical Peg post

What's in a typical Peg post? Could there be baking?

This is Snickers pound cake in cupcakes, with a mini Snickers stuck in the top, drizzled with chocolate. They're for a staff association bake sale tomorrow. I planned to bring in twelve, but the recipe made 24, with six extra large extras.

Snickers pound cake cupcakesSnickers pound cake cupcakes

In this post could there also be knitting?

This is the Ball-Band Dishcloth, found on the label of Peaches & Creme cotton worsted and reprinted in Mason-Dixon Knitting. For some reason I've fallen so deeply in love with this pattern I can see myself knitting fourteen cloths for both bathrooms, plus more for Christmas presents–I keep telling myself to calm down, finish the thing, and give it a test drive in the shower before I order a ball of each color from the factory (I think they have like 85 colors)–all that garter stitch looks like it could give you quite a scrubbin'.

Another knitting milestone: two socks!

Matchingks! I made them for my friend K, who's been having a bit of a rough time lately, but I don't think she got that I made them–after she tried them on she told another friend that she should get a pair, they were light as a feather…but did she think I just left a pair of random socks on her couch for her? Weird. 

And in a Peg post, could there be catses?

Why yes there could!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A typical Peg post

  1. Morgat says:

    The cupcakes. Oh my. Those. look. delish. Nummers.
    The cloth — I always want to use those pretty knitted things for doll blankets instead. Washing with them just doesn't seem right to me.
    The socks — they look so snuggly! But where on earth did she think they came from???
    The cat. Purrrrrrr. I wanted to reach out and gently stroke that paw…

  2. Thank you! I didn't see any in the leftovers from the bake sale, so that was good. The emphasis of the book is knitting things to make every day, so it recommends making dishcloths so you get used to using the things you knit, instead of archiving them in tissue paper as works of art–I haven't finished it yet, so I don't know if I'll actually be able to use it as intended…Sally was so fast asleep she was making dream-twitches, but what a dirty look she gave me when she woke up!

  3. Lauri says:

    You do so many neat things, Peg! It's always great fun to read a Peg Post! 😀

Leave a Reply

