Size, mattering

 

My local yarn shop is having a knitting afternoon to make preemie hats to donate to local hospitals. This is my first try. Not being familiar with preemies I'm not sure if the hat will fit the brief, but it was a one-night project. The pattern comes from the yarn, which is kind of cool.

On the other hand:

This is supposed to be a head-hugging London Beanie, my nephew's Christmas present. It's…big. I know I'm going to have to rip it out and try it again but I just don't want to think about it right now.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Size, mattering

  1. brownamazon says:

    OMG, my sister is a preemie nurse and knits them teeeny little hats…your effort is beautiful, but you could fit the whole preemie in there! Seriously, the hats are like the diameter of an oreo.

  2. Yikes, that is tee-tiny! At the yarn shop they were saying "size of an orange" but they didn't specify navel or mandarin. This hat might fit a plum, maybe.

  3. Morgat says:

    I especially like the effect of the knitting needles at the top of the head, in the second picture. You could start a trend.
    Somewhere recently I read "knit the hat to fit a lime" and I thought Eek! Limes are small! Oranges can be really really big. Babies can be really really tiny. (It's amazing how tiny they can be.)

  4. My favorite part is the string still attached to the skein.
    Limes! Crikey! That is small!

  5. Morgat says:

    Oooh! Lookit these patterns! preemie hats on a blog…
    Here's another link…

  6. Oh, that's very helpful, thanks!

Leave a Reply

