A cake for Oscar night

I haven't been baking much lately, because baking is not knitting. For tonight, though, I was asked for a cake that looked like a bowl of popcorn:

 

To flavor it I soaked it with Cheerwine, a fine local soda–it's kind of like a fruitier Dr. Pepper. I boiled it to make it a little more like a syrup.

I covered the top and sides of the cake with chocolate.

Oscar night cakeOscar night cake

The popcorn was piped with a round tip and a curved tip, with a little bit of yellow striped inside the bag.

I thought it would do better with some more color, but I don't know how I would add it–M&Ms around the sides, maybe?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A cake for Oscar night

  1. AmyH says:

    Wow. That is amazing. You are such an ambitious and talented baker! I'm in awe!

  2. Aubrey says:

    You are wicked.
    You don't need to add any M&Ms. Please donate them to the M&Ms For Aubrey charity of your choice.

  3. Lurkertype says:

    Hmm… pipe some color on the "bowl" part so it looks like a multi-colored bowl instead of a plain one?The "popcorn" is great!

  4. Lauri says:

    In-freaking-credible!!!

Leave a Reply

