Baking marathon, cake 2

This was for a 1st birfday party, so it was very important.

The mother had requested that I use cage free eggs, organic milk, and organic butter, and she was willing to pay extra for it–it's a poor cook who blames her ingredients, but I'm going to.

Specifically, I'm going to blame the $6/pound organic butter. I've made this cake recipe ka-zeellions of times–this is not a normal result.

The cupcakes sank too. When I mixed it up the batter seemed thinner than normal, and two much liquid can make cakes sink, so for the second batch, begun at 10pm, I reduced the liquid by 1/4 cup.

 At this point I was nearly out of organic eggs and butter. I'd eaten one of the cupcakes, and it wasn't sludge, it had a crumb, it was just moister than I like, so I decided that I would trim off the high points and call the two cakes layers. The second batch of cupcakes sank too, but they can be made and cooled pretty fast, so I redid them in the morning.

I used a different recipe for the cupcakes, but again, wah-wah-waaah. A little less wah-wah than the first cupcakes, so good enough to be going on with, but not what I like to see. Why blame the butter? because this is a familiar recipe, with no changes in my dry ingredients, and of the new ingredients milk is milk and eggs is eggs but butter is composed of fat and liquid and whatever amounts of both are in $6/pound organic butter it threw off my recipe and is therefore bad and I'm going back to Kroger brand (sulk).

Did I mention that the baby's daddy is in the restaurant business? I imagine his foodie guests taking a polite bite, touching their lips with a napkin, and setting their plates aside.

The icing made with the organic butter was softer than usual, but fortunately I didn't have a lot of piping planned for the cake. The colors of the Hungry Caterpillar are bright and transparent, so I decided to use decorating spray instead of colored icing.

However it turned out on the inside, when it was done I was pretty pleased with the outside:

The feet are chocolate chips and the antennae are squished up gumdrops. Fail inside, win outside. I turned the sunken cupcakes into trifle with strawberries, vanilla pudding, and whipped cream for my local yarn shop's Bingo night.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Baking marathon, cake 2

  1. Artzy Lady says:

    Nice save, looks lovely!

  2. snoringKatZ says:

    Oh, Peg! That is WONDERFUL!!! You did a beautiful job and that will be a very happy one year-old.

  3. Laurie says:

    This will make for fabulous first birthday photos, and really, isn't that what first birthdays are all about?

  4. Lurkertype says:

    It looks mahvelous… and you know what they say about being mahvelous. And the kid will just smear it all over his/her face anyway.Probably the organic butter has more liquid and isn't as homogenized. Maybe the eggs are a little different, too, like how fresh and slightly older eggs differ.That yarn is almost Sally-colored. She's hidingks.

  5. Aubrey says:

    Cakes do not taste bad. It is Cake Law.
    And your cake looks fab…Sally as floofy paws! MUST GRAB!

  6. jaypo says:

    You are TOO clever, Peg! It's adorable and memorable!As an aside, I made an organic cake=mix over the weekend (Dr. Oetkers). It too had a disappointing crumb and texture, but tasted yummy nonetheless.

  7. lauowolf says:

    I think Lurkertype has probably nailed it.Butter can vary as to how much water remains in it.And is sold by weight.Taps toes, thinks….ah naughty, wicked organic butter makers!They left too much water in it, and it upset your recipe.PERFECT caterpillar tho.

  8. Lauri says:

    Awesome!!!How fun to work these problems through and come out with these FABulous results! 😀

Leave a Reply

