Alone in the house with white yarn and Kool-Aid

…you just know that means trouble.

Why the neighbors stare at me: because sometimes I stand in the driveway turning a hank of wet yarn in my hands and mumbling to myself (I was in the driveway because the rest of the yard was in shade). To dye this yarn I soaked it in vinegar and water in a casserole dish, then scattered dry Kool-Aid over it.

From this I learned 1) that grape Kool-Aid is nothing but trouble; and 2) I should steer the color wheel carefully when I try this stuff. Although I might not automatically pick this yarn up at a yarn store I don't hate it–it's not the brightly-colored babygear-suitable yarn I was hoping for, but it's…interesting.

I also tried to do a graduated yarn–the picture in my head was a yarn that was pink on one end and red on the other and shaded in between.

I read on the internets, where all the good ideas come from, that someone dyed a graduated yarn by soaking a ball of yarn in a second dye color–I pictured a gentle and orderly colorchange from dark to light.

It didn't quite work that way, so I ended up unrolling about 2/3 of the ball and putting the whole boiling back in the dye. It's closer to what I wanted now:

I'm thinking of using the red for a triangular shawl. Not sure what to do with the clown barf yet.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Alone in the house with white yarn and Kool-Aid

  1. Lurkertype says:

    "Not sure what to do with the clown barf yet."Dispose of it in an environmentally friendly fashion?<3 the kitteh posing with the pink.

  2. I'm curious to see how it will knit up–burial at sea is always an option tho.

  3. AmyH says:

    I might take up knitting if it means I get to make my own yarn colors. How fun!

  4. lauowolf says:

    might re-do it with another color on top… so it would end-up a darker color, in tones.so bring on more kool-aid!

  5. jaypo says:

    How Kool-Aid is that! Great fun, PoT, even with the Bozo yarn.

  6. Lurkertype says:

    Aw, lookit Val being all Pollyanna and snarky at the same time. But it's a good idea. Someone will take it, and pass it down as the goofy family heirloom. "Cousin Tracy's having a baby, give her the clown barf blanket!"

  7. "I can't be pregnant! I don't want the blaaaaankeeettttt!!!"
    I'd use it to make some kind of shelter cat snuggy but I'm afraid the cats would comment.

  8. Valerae says:

    That brand of commentary can only enhance the current color.

  9. Now that it's in a ball, it kind of has the colors of a bowl of Lucky Charms: a good bit of oaty beige sweetened with marshmallowy pastels. Still don't know what to do with it, but I am reminded I'm out of cereal.

  10. Valerae says:

    You know, it's actually kind of pretty in ball form. If I didn't know how you did it, I'd think, wow, I would have loved to have seen that alpaca.

  11. "That alpaca looks magically delicious!"

Leave a Reply

