I had an attack of Garboism

Forgive me for not posting in most of a month!

Last night I baked my last batch of brownies in the oven that came with my house. The nice people from Habitat came to pick it up today, but the friend who let them in while I was at work said they dropped it on their way out of the house. It deserved better. A new range, with Convection! and a Window in the oven door! is arriving on Sunday, with a new washing machine. A new dishwasher arrived last week.

I don't feel very sentimental about the washer, and I gave the old dishwasher a hearty Begone, Foul Beast! when it was taken away. This is all from Jeopardy money, so thanks, Sony Pictures!

This knitting project is All Wrong:

I'm more inclined to start over than fix it. The kool-aid dyed yarn, though, came out prettier when knitted than I had any right to expect:

While intended for a real baby, the yarn is so thick and heavy the finished product seems to weigh about a kilo, so it may be comfort-rated for Siberia.

My new year's resolution was to learn to knit cables. Sally was kind enough to model the wrist warmers I made as a practice project:

Crowned Head

It seems to be an article of faith among knitters that to stay warm you need to cover as many pulse points with wool as possible, so wrist warmers are very popular projects. I'm pretty sure these won't actually deflect bullets, but I was pleased enough with them to make bullet-deflecting gestures and noises when I tried them on.

They're warm but it's 90F here, so everything's warm. The only other thing I have to report is the movie Public Enemies is bad, but the book is Awesome. I wish the people who made the movie had read it.

Even though I haven't been posting I have been keeping up with you all–in honor of Big Daddy Moo's joyous return I've been saying Wao! Crunchies! when I'm hungry, but it hasn't made food or skritches magically appear. Alas.

Sukey: not a model

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I had an attack of Garboism

  1. Laurie says:

    Sally looks very fetching with a yarn crown.

  2. arbed says:

    beautiful kitties, as alwaysand yay for jeopardy money!

  3. jaypo says:

    I your kitties, they're both so pretty and squishable.Getting new appliances is vunderbar. Everything is an adventure in the kitchen with new stuff. Congratulations!

  4. Aubrey says:

    Sukey looks anything but tawdry. And I love the colors in the baby bonnet – all of those tiny complexities.

  5. Lurkertype says:

    Such beautiful floofy girls!Still not wild about the clown barf.Or keeping the wine (even cooking wine) that close to the stove.

Leave a Reply

