Avert your eyes!

This is hanging on my front window–on the outside of the front window, or else I'd have to move:

I tried to hold up a quarter for size comparison, but the photo didn't work. I'd say this lovely creature has the wingspan of a business card. Eat many bugs, ma'm, but please stay on your side of the glass!

Also: look! my first fancy sock:

It's made from the yarn I bought for therapy last week. I think the sock is a little big, and the toe grafting is pretty crap, but on the whole I'm quite proud!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Avert your eyes!

  1. Lauri says:

    Hi, PofT! :)The spider is awesome! When I was in high school we had these dudes in webs on the front porch. The first two years there was a female there and the third year a male…maybe why there wasn't a fourth year. I did name the first two girls Charlotte..and the guy Wilbur. Good on ya for letting her stay! (on the OUTside!) Yeesh!!The sock is amazing..and scary….I need to learn knitting or crocheting…I think I am too impatient and ADD for knitting. Crocheting maybe.

  2. Laurie says:

    Yikes at the spider! I wouldn't kill it, if only because I'd be afraid it would fight back. But I might have to draw the blinds.

  3. The sock was fun, srsly! There's a tshirt out there somewhere that says "I knit so I don't kill people" and doing all those stitches, with something pretty when you're done, it's really very soothing, at least once you're past the Do What? stage.
    If you learn to crochet you can do stuff like this.

  4. Thanks!
    The spider's on a part of the window that doesn't have a shade, so I think we're going to have to work on a policy of Armed but Polite Detente.

  5. I'm not normally afeared of spiders, but there is a size issue and this spider violates it. As the poster says, "Keep calm and carry on."

  6. Lauri says:

    Oh isn't that cute! I will definitely have to learn this. I need a soothing, productive hobby that allows me to not kill people. šŸ™‚

  7. If I could crochet I'd get this.

  8. Lauri says:

    Omg!!! SO cute! Thanks for all the inspiration here! Have you tried crochet, or are you just happy with knit? I tried knitting and my stitches were so uneven and ugly I just gave up. šŸ˜›

  9. So far I'm happy with knitting, but with crochet you get to do stuff like this. Right now I hold a hook in one hand and yarn in the other and wonder how they go together (it seems unlikely).When I started knitting I bought a $3 skein of beige tweed Red Heart yarn and some metal needles and just knitted away until I was ready to knit something for realz–it's about 3ft long and full of dropped stitches and a couple of knots where Sukey chewed the yarn in half. It wasn't supposed to be anything so I didn't have to worry about it being perfect.

  10. Lauri says:

    That Chewbacca is priceless!!! lol!One of these days….

  11. Annie says:

    a zipper spider I love these we get them occasionally in the garden They are whoppers that is for sure.. and for your first sock it looks awesome… the more you knit the more uniform your stitches get and I love to knit as it is an easy take along craft for riding in the car and that sort of thing. Plus it is very soothing once you are past the what now stage.

Leave a Reply

