Okay, updates!

At halftime the Bulldogs are at 31, the Gamecocks at 23…not a classic defensive battle!

Now that the cookies have cooled, the raspberry flavor is much more prominent. I like the cookies very much, but the flavor does not play well with Two Buck Chuck white zinfandel. Just so you know…

Here's my stab at an offishl recipe–there's some still some guesswork here, so it's just a first draft:

1/2 cup shortening
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 tsp raspberry jello
1/2 3/4 cup seedless raspberry jam (I used 3tbls in the 1/2 batch, but 6 tbls is something weird like 5/8 of a cup) (ETA: Don't trust my math. 6 tbls out of 16 (16 tlbs = 1 cup) is not 5/8.)
1 egg
2 1/4 cups flour (add more flour if needed)
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups dark chocolate chunks
mini marshmallows

Preheat the oven to 350F.

Mix the dry ingredients together. Cream the shortening and butter with the sugars and vanilla. Add the egg, jello, and preserves. Add the dry ingredients. Stir in the chocolate chunks.

Scoop the cookies onto cookie sheets lined with parchment paper (I hear aluminum foil also works). The cookies I made took 16-18 minutes to bake, but they were fairly large. Add the marshmallows in the last 2-3 minutes of baking time.

Cool on the pan until cookies are firm enough to move to a cooling rack. Do not serve with white zinfandel (just because they're both pink doesn't mean they go well together).

Looking at the pictures in the cookie-making post, I realize I added the whole amount of sugar to what I intended to be a half recipe (oops!) but for the next batch I'd like to try the lesser amount.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Okay, updates!

  1. jaypo says:

    I just can't wait to try them, Peg! In my dream, they were only about 2 in. across, so when I try it, I'll make them to be smaller than what you did.I shall not serve them with white zin. You're a wonder! Thank you so very much!

  2. It was a fun challenge, and I got to put off housecleaning *and* laundry, so it was full of win! Can't wait to see yours!

  3. Brown Suga' says:

    I ❤ these Vox collaborations :')

  4. jaypo says:

    Darn, I'm at a workshop all weekend of the 19th-20th–book repair and conservation, so I can't compain too much. Maybe I'll get to them during the week… If not, be patient! 🙂

  5. jaypo says:

    Also–why did you use some shortening instead of butter? did you want a flakier texture?

  6. jaypo says:

    It's what makes vox so much fun!

  7. Flakiness…well, with a pie crust shreds of fat are coated in flour that creates a flaky architecture when the fat melts away–you don't have quite the same texture with a cookie, but since shortening doesn't melt as fast as butter I was hoping it would give the cookie structure more body since the preserves add so much liquid to the dough.Does that sound all smrt n' stuff? This is where it comes from–I'm not an expert, I just watch experts on TV! I don't think there'd be a problem with using all butter, but if you didn't want the cookies to get completely flat, you might put the pan of cookies in the freezer for a few minutes before you bake them (that's a trick from Martha Stewart–she does it help her Christmas cut-out cookies keep their shape).

  8. Laurie says:

    Thanks for that cookie tip about the freezer — I'll try that myself.

  9. jaypo says:

    I love Alton Brown! I used his pie crust technique of butter/shortening and made the most excellent crust for an apple pie. :-)It's a work in progress!! What I'll also look in my Maida Heatter cookie book and see what I might get tfrom that.

  10. Lurkertype says:

    These is mos' def cabernet sauvingon or real zinfandel cookies.Not that I have made a study of chocolate and raspberries with red wine or anything. Ahem. Never. *whistles*They do sound dreamy.(I's been watching foo'ball too — we gots all the pro games free today only. 8 at a time, separately or on one screen!) (Detroit 27, New Orleans 45. No deefense)

  11. Lurkertype says:

    I think these should be titled "Jaypo's Dream Cookies By Peg". Or "Peg Makes Jaypo's Dreams Come True". Or summat.If they are submitted anywhere, the story behind them is a must!They sound very tasty to me. I must keep this away from Mr. LT's eyes lest he demand I make these in my wee toaster oven.Now I needs a cookie. Luckily I gave in and bought some of the fine products from the folks at LU the other day.

Leave a Reply

