Verdict is: Promising!

Okay, I only made half a batch, working with the ingredients listed in Jaypo's original post–basically the Toll House cookie recipe with some of the liquid and fat removed to allow for the raspberry preserves. I like to use Polaner All-Fruit because the commercials made my grandmother laugh ("Don't call it jelly!") and it's seedless, so that was convenient.

I'd say I used about 3 good tablespoons of the preserves (for a half batch, remember), and a scant teaspoon of sugarless raspberry jello (sugarless only because that's what was in the cupboard. As for the marshmallows..

Yes, they were left over from Easter, but they were still squishy. It looks like adding them to the cookies in the last 2-3 minutes of cooking worked best.

The first batch were kinda candy-like, like sticking to your teeth candy-like, so I added more flour, and then they came out better. To me the flavor is sweet first, raspberry second, but the raspberry is there, and quite nice, too.

I didn't add marsmallows to all the cookies, but that's just my personal taste–I was talking to a friend while I finished the last batch and she suggested using white chocolate chips instead (instead of the marshmallows, I mean, and in addition to the dark chocolate chips), and adding macadamia nuts.

So there! Jaypo, a fine idea!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Verdict is: Promising!

  1. Lauri says:

    Oooo, they are sounding really good! I would be a non-marshmallow person, too! But, the raspberry sugar cookie sounds very very tempting! Keep us updated! 🙂

  2. jaypo says:

    I can fall asleep tonight having sweet dreams, Peg. I can't wait to try them myself!

  3. I'm looking forward to seeing how they come out for someone else! Feel better!

  4. I think raspberry sugar cookie is a good way to describe them–next time I might put the chocolate on top, instead of in the batter, to make them more prominent.

  5. Lurkertype says:

    Making dreams come true!

Leave a Reply

