Thumpthumpscrape…silence

Mom and Dad have been visiting for the past week. Last night when we were playing cards (it's sort of like Festivus without the pole: much airing of grievances and the occasional feat of strength–we had started the evening by seeing a community theater production of Chekov and were using lines from the play to describe our hands: "My shoulder just fell off." "I can't feel my left leg.") we heard a thumping and bumping and when I went to investigate I found this:

That would be a box with a tail sticking out. In my office I keep copy paper boxes for the girls to sit on, because the floors are cold, and when Mom was cleaning (I love having my parents visit) she stacked one, open side up, on the box that was under the desk. Sally apparently decided to climb into it and pulled it over on top of herself.

Instant moral quandary: rescue the cat or grab the camera?

Mom and Dad left this morning and the girls are happier because they get to have their own private bathroom again (they have to bunk with me when there are guests). In spite of Dad's aversion to cats he put in a screen door with glass that goes to the floor so they can see outside.

This weekend I'm going to the Southeast Animal Fiber Fair (Mom's last words before she left were "Don't buy any more yarn." Also they think I should knit on one project at a time instead of the…um, eight I have going now). I haven't been before, so I'm not sure what to expect, but I hear there could be BUNNEEZ! And yarn.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thumpthumpscrape…silence

  1. Laurie says:

    This is always the order for future moral quandaries:
    1. Grab camera.
    2. Rescue cat.
    3. Post photo to Vox.

  2. Morgat says:

    What Laurie said. Plus… More yarn. Resistance is futile, and only leads to regret. ONE project at a time is boring. (Not that I knit. I apply the rule to writing. and to just about everything else.)

  3. Aubrey says:

    I love the drawing. Very Thurber-esque.

  4. I knew as I lifted the box off her I was letting the Vox 'hood down, but she was giving me big sad WUT HAPPN? eyes. Poor lamb.

  5. I tried to explain that I needed different projects for different moments, based on portability and complicatedness, but they weren't convinced. I didn't try the yarn = therapy argument, but I don't think that would have worked either.

  6. Thank you! Imagine what Thurber could have done with Photoshop!

  7. jaypo says:

    It's definitely Thurber-esque.You won't be able to come home without yarn and you know it. It's just the way it is.

  8. Lurkertype says:

    I had the same quandary when TK got his head stuck in the Kleenex box. Alas, no photos, nor the talent to illustrate it. Quite Thurbery indeed.

Leave a Reply

