The One L Lama…

…he's a priest. The two-L llama…

Although a very personable and gentlemanly beast. This weekend I went to the Southeastern Animal Fiber Fair in Asheville NC.

It was held in an agricultural exhibition hall. Lots of nice vendors, but not an overwhelming size.

I think I was reasonable in my shopping:

Also it was autumn in the mountains, so that was nice:

At the fiber fair, there were bunnies!

 

 

The yarn from the bunnehs was cruelly expensive, but very soft. I did not buy the $30 skein of alpaca, but I'm finding that bit of virtue cold comfort.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The One L Lama…

  1. AmyH says:

    You can pick up Alpaca yarn pretty cheap in Peru. You should go! 😀
    Great photos, looks like a fun time!

  2. jaypo says:

    You were judicious in your shopping, Peg. The sheen on the yarns speaks to their quality. Hand dyed, too, no doubt. Three bags full would be better BUT…these are a treasure!

  3. My favorite dyer was there: http://www.missbabs.comI'm squooshing the yarns and looking at patterns…

  4. jaypo says:

    Ohh, pretty! She has beautiful items. Have you ever done needle-felting? I've gone to several rug hooking fairs and come home much the poorer for it.

  5. No, I haven't tried needle felting (I have enough of a Knitting Problem right now), but I think Sally would be an endless source of fiber…have you tried felting with Buz or Mishoo?

  6. jaypo says:

    When I brush Buz, I'm always amazed at how soft and warm the wads of furrzle are. The fibers are too short to spin, probably. If you interwove them with something long-fibered it might work. As for Moo… who'd want to wear Monkey fur? 😀

  7. e2c says:

    a member of the Bunny Lovers Unite pool on Flickr does superb needle felting with bun fur (both long and short-haired varieties). her specialty: tiny "portrait" buns. I know that might sound a bit kitschy, but believe me, they're not! (Ca't recall her name, though… gah!)

  8. jaypo says:

    Doesn't sound kitschy at all! I did a needle-felted portrait of my Patsy when she passed. I should take a leetle pic of it to post. That's an excellent idea, e. Maybe the next ball o' fuzzle I brush from him I'll try felting with.

  9. e2c says:

    I'd love to see your portrait of Patsy!

Leave a Reply

