Ow. Ow. Ow. Ow. Ow.

In which I make coal cookies.

I made a double batch, so I was able to dump two full bags of chips into the batter–unimaginable luxury! After I made up the batter I thought I might have used some bourbon instead of all the vanilla, and then I remembered Dad drank it all last time my parents visited (not that I didn't help). Maybe next time.
The cookies don't spread much while they bake, so you can put them fairly close together.
After the cookies come out of the oven you're supposed to mush them up some to make them look more like coal. You have to do this pretty quick, because if they've set up too much they just crumble under your fingers. It worked best for me to squish the outside of the cookies toward the middle–that way the bottom of the cookie stays flat and solid while the top looks attractively crumpled. I tried to use the back of a spoon and a spatula, but that just cut the cookies into crumbs, so that meant fingers meeting hot hot hot melted chocolate chips ow ow ow.
I did not add raisins or nuts, but I have no objection to them.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ow. Ow. Ow. Ow. Ow.

  1. AmyH says:

    WANT! If that's what coal is, I want a lot of it in my stocking!

  2. jaypo says:

    Raisins wouldn't add anything. Walnuts might. But they look perfect as they are.

  3. brownamazon says:

    Bet they are YUM. But…does anyone else think they look less like coal and more like…another unpleasant substance?

  4. Artzy Lady says:

    Oh, YUM! Amen to AmyH's comment! Raisens would ruin, pecans maybe but I think they would be perfect as they are. I'd prolly skip the smooch step and dust them with a tiny bit of powdered sugar but that would defeat the whole thing of making "coal." Course you could always burn them really badly… that would make coal. =)

  5. You should have seen them before they were attractively crumpled!

  6. Lauri says:

    ME WANT TOO!I am SO going to make these for the folks at work!

  7. Lurkertype says:

    Pecans would be better than walnuts, for sure. I wouldn't advise raisins or walnuts, honestly. Would be pleh.Bourbon AND pecans might be too awesome to be borne, but I'd risk it.

  8. Brown Suga' says:

    OMG anything with coffee is heaven.

  9. lauowolf says:

    These look incredibly chocolately deadly.And coffee + chocolate = YUM.

Leave a Reply

