Happy New Year!

I started these when I started my trip, finished them yesterday, and pulled them off my feet with real regret. They're mostly wool, and I thought they'd be too warm, but it is only in the 20s today, so they are not.
This year my family met up in Boston and went to NYC for a couple of days.
The pink hat from the Squee-Up proved invaluable–as the shortest person in the family it's good to wear something that can be spotted in a crowd. Notice how my face matches its color.
We went to the Met!
The show was "Tales of Hoffman," which we didn't actually know until the tickets were in our hands–it was the Met, and Dad was determined to take me, and it was marvelous. In the first act, the listed performer was replaced by an understudy (the blur in the short pink dress in the above picture) and she got her chance and knocked it out of the park–she got to take several bows in the middle of her act, and got roars at curtain. Just like in the movies!
DSCN8569DSCN8566

At the Museum of Natural History, we got to see a nice young man pop the question while standing with his girl under the whale's tail:
Back in Boston, we went to the Isabella Stewart Gardiner Museum (the museum Howard Finster would have made if he'd had the money) and the House of the Seven Gables, and the Witch Museum, but generally it was just quiet family stuff. Also there was snow.
When I got back home Sukey gave me a hiss ("Who are you? You look the one who is gone!") but allowed pets and snorgles later. Sally was her own sweet self, and it's very good to be back with them.
My life converges
Susan Penny

I think 2010 is going to be a year of change–I don't know where yet, but that's how it feels. Be happy, be healthy, be better than before!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. YGRS says:

    you make great socks, Peg! They look very warm & snuggly. Lucky family!i'm glad you had a good holiday with your family. — glad the girls were taken good care of while you were elsewhere. (and weren't pissed off at you for "leaving".)have a happy 2010, Peg.&:o)

  2. AmyH says:

    Fantastic post! Loved the family socks picture! Sounds like you had a fantastic Christmas!

  3. jaypo says:

    I love the sockies!! Your family sounds wonderful and comfortable to be with–nice to share such interesting events and entertainments with them! And us!Happy new year!!

  4. Laurie says:

    I love the sock shot!
    Crankypants and I did the Isabella Stewart Gardiner Museum during the first Squee-Up in Boston — I think it's wonderful.

  5. Lurkertype says:

    what a wonderful holiday adventure!

  6. little miao says:

    warm snuggly socks and warm snuggly kitties – a perfect combination!

Leave a Reply

