A bloggable item

In the world of lace knitting, this is a shawl with training wheels–it's in worsted weight yarn, thick for this sort of work, and small enough that I finished it inside of a week. The instructions said to block it aggressively, which looks like this:
Of course I had help:
In fact, I had so much help I had to find a new place for the shawl to dry:
Unfortunately this is a lovely parting gift for a friend of mine, who will be moving to Houston in a couple of weeks. I'm helping her move, which means that for 16 hours I will either be driving a van with five boxed cats or a station wagon with two unsecured dogs. I am afraid.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A bloggable item

  1. Lauri says:

    This is the most beautiful gift!!!Don't be afraid! (I would be, too!) The dogs, the cats and the friend will be forever grateful!I am sorry they are moving to Houston, though! Best of luck with EVerything!!!

  2. Lurkertype says:

    That's true friendship. I think I might go with the boxed cats — loud, but not dangerous.The first 2 pictures made me think of Batman.

  3. I was thinking The Moth 🙂 . My choice would be the cats too, because I know cats and they'll be in boxes, but I've never actually driven a van before, and my friend will be renting it, so that who's authorized to drive it thing may be an issue.

  4. Thank you! My friend really needs to make a change in her life so I hope this move works out for her. As for the drive, I really don't want to try to answer "How bad could it be?" I just don't.

  5. Lurkertype says:

    Urm. Too bad you can't put a grate between you and the dogs. The last time I helped a friend move, I didn't have to do any driving, and she had the dawg.It looked like a moth when I looked at it properly instead of in passing.

  6. A grate would help a lot, just to keep the lively younger dog from wanting to co-pilot. I just hope the ancient older dog survives the trip!

  7. jaypo says:

    You're a good friend, Peg! I hope it goes smoothly and that the move is good for her.A grate is an excellent idea. How long is the drive?

  8. The drive is somewhere between 14 and 16 hours. I found a barrier that can go between the front and back seat online–that would make me feel a lot better!

  9. pyrl says:

    Peg, your shawl is beautiful. I may have to commission one from you someday. Something lovely to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

