Lace on training wheels

198 yds of heaven

Back when I first started knitting my friend Katherine asked for a lace shawl but I told her I needed to climb the learning curve first. She’s moving out of state this week so I made this for her–the pattern is 198 Yds. of Heaven (req. Ravelry account) by Christy Verity. I wouldn’t have thought to try lace knitting if Katherine hadn’t asked me to.

I can point out all the mistakes for you

It’s not the shawl she was asking for–think giant rectangle in gossamer thread–I have the pattern and the laceweight yarn but not the courage for such a thing yet. It should be more practical, though, since it’s just the size to tuck into a coat collar.

I cast on another shawl today and worked through 2/3 of the body in about 4 hours. Watching the pattern grow out from the center puts me in awe of the creator’s mad math skillz.

This entry was posted in Actual Knitting Content. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lace on training wheels

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

