Giving up yarn for Lent

No, no, no, not giving up knitting, that would be crazy, just buying yarn: I’m too ready to come home and say “I bought what? But it was on sale!” and then have some new stash I’m not entirely proud to have.

Today I also realized that part of not buying yarn should be to knit more intentionally, so I don’t look down at my hands and say “What am I knitting this for?” When I came home from Texas my Ravelympics baby kimono was in time out and I didn’t want to go back to Aunt Karen’s blanket (no credit to me) so I started knitting this thing:

No, really, what is it?

The yarn was two skeins of purple Lion Brand Suede I got at Michaels for $2 each (very on sale! regularly $6.99 or something like that!) and the pattern was the lace sampler shrug from Knitty Gritty Knits, the book based on the late DIY network show (is DIY network still around? isn’t Green Network or something now?). The yarn shows up on those never knit with this stuff again threads on Ravelry, but I didn’t hate it; it wasn’t stretchy but it was soft. I couldn’t find any way to join it (the book recommended the Russian join but the yarn has a solid core so it wouldn’t work) so I just had to weave in the ends.

Here’s what I hate about the pattern:

1) it’s not symmetrical. Yes, OCD, I has it. And it’s not just non-symmetrical in that it’s blocks of YO + k2tog patterns stacked up on each other, it’s that the blocks aren’t balanced; it’s like the designer started off with a big block of pattern and then had to cram in a bunch of little ones at the end so the shrug wouldn’t go over length.

2) it’s not written consistently. In one pattern block you’re told to repeat X-XY lines, but in another each line is written out, even though you’re repeating lines there, too.

3) there’s not a lot of variations between the pattern blocks. I wouldn’t want to try anything to fancy with bulky yarn/LB Suede, though.

I thought the pattern would work for a scarf, and it might have, if I’d made it narrower. At the end of the pattern you have a good half skein of yarn left, maybe more, so I improvised some extra blocks to make it longer, but it’s still maybe four feet long, long enough to fold around the neck but not enough to knot. So it’s become another “Why am I knitting this?” project, and I don’t know what to do with it now: not really a scarf, not really a shawl…

There’s lots of projects I should do, and lots of projects I want to do…maybe it’s time to employ the Ravelry queue, or do the “no new starts” Lent as well as the “no new yarns” Lent.

This entry was posted in Actual Knitting Content, Yarn Shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Giving up yarn for Lent

  1. ginger na says:

    I’ve been knitting less than a year. My sister(a knitter) says that I need something more advanced. I saw this on Knitty Gritty. Loved that it was knit like a scarf,but had varied stitches. After reading your thoughts I’m not so sure anymore. Thank you for your post. I’ll plan on checking by to see your cats and projects. Ginger

    • pegoftilling says:

      Thanks for stopping by and saying hi! A sampler scarf could be fun, but you wouldn’t necessarily have to do this pattern–you could draw up your own, maybe using stitches from a stitch dictionary, and that way you could pick stitches that would be a challenge but not a pain, and arrange them how you like.

Leave a Reply

