Okay so this morning…

…the girls wake me up for brekfest. As I get the gooshyfuds out of the fridge I start hearing a high pitched electronic whine eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee…it seemed to be coming from the corner of the kitchen cabinets with the microwave, so I unplugged it, but the noise was still thereeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee…it seemed to be coming from inside the cabinet, so I started digging around in the pots and pans, thinking "if Mom and Dad get up and see me with my head in the cabinets at 2am they're going to think I'm crazy. Unless they confirm hearing the noise in which case I'll know I'm not crazy. Unless I'm crazy." Turns out that back in the corner where things get lost there was an old electronic kitchen timer giving its last scream–I took the battery out and blessed silence descended. The good news was that somewhere deep in the cabinet I found all the parts to my food mill, last used in the '90s.

So Mom and Dad are visiting. Mom cleaned my room–she said it was "fun" bringing order out of chaos. She wants me to sort through my shoes:

She also thinks I shouldn't allow the girls on my bed.

Dad made a new base for the dollhouse my grandfather made for my mother and aunts, back in the 1930s.

In the back are drawers for the assorted dollhouse furniture. It still has the original curtains–it took three rinses in OxyClean to make them cream-color, not Isabella brown. I threw out the original thumbtacks that were holding them up because they were pretty clearly full of tetanus.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Okay so this morning…

  1. snoringKatZ says:

    I love your parents. No wonder you're so fabulous!

  2. I am just a darn lucky girl!

  3. snoringKatZ says:

    I skipped over all the stuff about shoes and girls on the bed and headed straight for the cabinet just to keep the happy buzz going ;)Not the timer buzz. A different non-eeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! buzz.

  4. The shoes are part of the happy buzz too–if piles of stuff have been around long enough I don't see them any more, and now that Mom pulled all the shoes out it's like "Wow! that closet has a floor!?" They do incredible things!Mom also knows that the girls will be on the bed, but is trying to persuade me that if I make the bed every day I won't breathe floof all night. I think it's an admirable goal. Not likely, but admirable.

  5. Lurkertype says:

    I'd like to know how Mom plans to keep the girls off the bed, unless she's maybe asking Dad to whip up a time machine and travel back to their kittenhood.

  6. Mom has never had cats, so she doesn't realize that living with floof and shredded furniture is a privilege. Sally crawled on her lap to try to purrrrrrsuade her, though.

  7. snoringKatZ says:

    See? Now it's more like she's a magical fairy mom who makes floors reappear! That's amazing!OK – I'm back to the full-on beginning to end buzz. But I'm not sure the girls would agree with you making your bed because they'd just have to squoozle it into appropriate comfy lumps and bumps which would just create more floof. I think there was a special about that on Discovery one time. If not, there should be one!

  8. Lurkertype says:

    Making the bed just gives them one more layer to shed on — a thicker one that doesn't get washed as often.Floof is inescapable!

  9. Laurie says:

    I don't think "allow" is the right word for kitties on the bed. Since there's really no way to "disallow" them. Even if you kept the bedroom door shut, they'd teleport themselves in. They can do that.

  10. Aubrey says:

    I couldn't help but notice the sunny spot on the bed. Where the sunny spot is, the kitties will be. They can't be denied.
    When I used to go to work later, the sun would be out, and the neighborhood-orange-kitty-in-the-window would take her place, and I would say hello to him.
    Now I'm going to work earlier, it's colder, and there's no kitty.
    It's not a fair exchange, at all.

  11. You should see what she did to the tupperware cupboard–nothing falls out when you open it! Amazing!

  12. They're fourth-dimensional, masters of time and space!

  13. Sad to not have a kitty to greet! Will he come back as the days grow longer?

  14. jaypo says:

    I've always envisioned it like that and the same with sun. Scientists don't give enough credit to spontaneous generation. Everyone knows sunlight can grow kitties in every environment.

  15. snoringKatZ says:

    Magic – pure magic.

Leave a Reply

