Competency quotient

I don't remember where I read it, but someone somewhere proposed that each person could only be so good at so many things, so if your biscuits were light your pie crusts would be bulletproof, or if you could grow azaleas your gardenias would choke once and die as soon as you planted them. So I'm wondering if my baking day of disaster happened because I'm knitting more, so the baking is feeling neglected–it would be funnier if I could say "I've been knitting so much Martha White wants to kick me sideways" but I use White Lily flour so that would be inaccurate, and I could talk about protein contents of flour for a bit to say why but that would be boring (lower = lighter higher = chewier).

Anyway…today I finished a fruit sock:

The idea is that when you pack your lunch you can put your fruit into your fruit sock and it will arrive at your lunch in much better condition than if you just threw it in your purse.

Next time I'll make it smaller–I was adapting a pattern (I keep wanting to say recipe) that called for thinner yarn and I overcompensated a bit.

I haven't tried packing a potato for lunch–I'm thinking you could bake it the night before and heat it up in the microwave–but I don't see why you couldn't. The texture might be a little sub-optimal but some cheese (to add protein to the carbs) and sour cream (on general principles–has the person who invented no-fat sour cream been nominated for a Nobel yet?) would improve that.

I have seen patterns for banana cozies but have no desire to make one. If you remember the monster baby pants from the last random pictures post I'm close to finishing the first leg, so I won't make the baby shower tomorrow but that'll be okay–it's sized for an older young'un and no baby needs woolly pants in the summer here.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Competency quotient

  1. jaypo says:

    You could knit a banana-condom.

  2. Lauri says:

    BAHAHA.jaypo, you are a dork. πŸ˜‰

  3. Lauri says:

    I love the fruit sock!You could even carry smaller potatoes in there and actually "bake" them in the microwave at work. They only take 3 or 4 minutes to cook. I cut them up with the skins on and add the butter and sour cream. Yum!

  4. jaypo says:

    That's an excellent idea for a lunch, I never thought of that!Two potatoes and a banana.

  5. Lauri says:

    Peg, could you knit a jock strap for jaypo's lunch pweeze?*falls on the floor laughing*

  6. When I was knitting this at church (evening function, not during the sermon or anything) people would ask "is that a hat?" and I would say "No, it's a fruit sock" but I'm afraid if I were knitting a banana cozy people would ask "is that a….?" in tones of rising horror and I would have to say "No! banana cozy! honest!"

  7. There are knitting patterns for things called "willy warmers." Not intended for bringing your lunch to work, though.

  8. pyrl says:

    Um, I was going to say, …I forget!

  9. jaypo says:

    Whyyy, thank oo, larui!

  10. Lauri says:

    Just keep your willy warmer, pyrl. πŸ™‚

  11. a fruit sock – oh my now I do believe I have seen everything. Glorious.

  12. Lurkertype says:

    Hey, our apple tree produces GIANT apples, as big as small grapefruit, so we'd need a fruit sock that size. Or almost, anyway.Why do I think the fruit sock was invented spontaneously when someone knitted a hat that came out way too small, and when challenged on it, they spied an apple and said "Fruit sock! I meant to do that!"There are fast-food joints that sell nothing but baked potatoes with various proteinaceous toppings, so it's an accepted lunch item.

Leave a Reply

