Wobbly Wednesday

Do I have something for Media Monday? I don’t think so…

Literatuesday: I just finished the latest Diane Fallon book by Beverly Connor–each book gets better and better! I have a lot of respect for authors who continually work at their craft. Diarmid McCullough’s History of Christianity just landed on my desk, and it’s the size of a dictionary–I don’t know if I have the attention span for it, but I’ll give it a try. I bought Rachel Herron’s How to Knit a Love Song at Stitches, because she was there to sign them, but I haven’t started it and really haven’t felt the want to read a romance in a while.

My knitting is in the same sort of disorganization: I knit a sock, from the Fishnet Anklets pattern on the purlsoho site, and the cast on stitches for the second sock are languishing mournfully on my knitting table. I started a hat in Rowan Handknit Cotton on Sunday, but started knitting it in the dark (it got me through a high school musical, a local production of Guys & Dolls), found the 2 x 2 rib unrecognizable when the lights came up, tore it up, cast it on smaller, and now, is it too small? Will have to check when I get home.

Also started an Ishbel, since the fates seemed to have been pushing me Ishbel-ward. The first yarn I tried was actual laceweight, about 900 yds/100 grams–sewing thread! srsly!–which took a couple of cast-ons, then the thread frayed and snapped. The yarn was 100% merino from an independent dyer, something I bought at SAFF 2009, so I’m a bit paranoid about continuing with it–also paranoid about moths! though I didn’t see anything icky when I went through my stash a couple days earlier. I restarted using a skein of Noro Silk Garden Sock, which will make a smaller shawl but be easier to work with. The stockinette section is much larger than I realized, and after making the 198 yds of Heaven shawls, a bit dull. Also suffering a bit of “can’t knit the yarn and have it too” about the Silk Garden Sock–the LYS has a skein of it, if I want to pay $20 to replace it.

On the whole, the only thing I’m sure about knitting right now are low-bandwidth-friendly warshcloths. Could prolly make a big damn stack of ’em reading History of Christianity

Tried to behave at Stitches: got 6 hanks of Berroco Vintage to try a sweater, in pink, and of course have possible color remorse. Got a few odd bargain balls, which I love to do, and some more 9″ HiyaHiya needles. Went through the stash after I came home, not before I went, which seems to be an unproductive order of events. Note that all the castonitis in the previous paragraphs concerns yarns in stash, not new: maybe they need to ripen a bit before I can use them?

"These smell a bit green..."

This entry was posted in Actual Knitting Content, Literatuesday, Yarn Shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

