Literatuesday and needle update

I found the lost short US8 needle deep in the recesses of my couch, so deep I stopped to wonder if my tetanus shot was current as I reached in. The short 4s, though, still missing. I couldn’t find my small knitting bag when I searched for it Sunday, so maybe they’ve run off together, like the dish and the spoon?

Yesterday’s post was written on my iPod, using the WordPress widget. It’s not something I’d want to do every post, but it was okay–it worked for a creative outlet when I was in Texas–I won’t be waxing verbose with it, though. Maybe if I got a netbook I’d write more, since it would have a proper keyboard, but buying the equipment is the fun and easy part of any craft.

I’m thinking of writing because I’m reading Dark Fires by Karen Harbaugh, which started well but sank into Romantic Malaise at the halfway point. I have no quarrel with romance novels, either the writing or the reading, except that 80% of them are written with 20% of the skill of the romance world. Since they’re read-once stories (generally) does it not pay for the publishers to look for something more? does the audience want something more, or just more of the same? Harbaugh is a good writer, and her heroine is interesting enough to keep the book going if it weren’t a romance novel, except then it probably wouldn’t have sold. Am I looking for steak at Burger King when I should be happy with that Angus thing on the menu?

Anyway, Dark Fires is a vampire novel set during the French Revolution, which would be awesome if the stupid romance novel thing didn’t get in the way. Right now the characters are trying to get to Paris, as they have been trying to get to Paris for the first three-quarters of the book–I must be getting old, getting impatient for the book to get on with the story instead of interrupting itself for episodes of horizontality. The heroine has only been a vampire for nine years, and has seen her family killed by the revolutionaries, so it makes sense that she’s kind of a Vampire Lite, not nearly ruthless enough and still concerned with the fate of her soul. The manly hero is a hardbitten spy but hasn’t yet distinguished himself from the zillions of other manly heroes in the genre to be that interesting. In today’s reading they got married, by both an notary and a priest to make it permanent, but not even the priest has objected to a marriage mixed between the undead and the not yet dead–it would make an interesting series to follow a vampire from era to era and husband to husband, but I don’t think it’s going to happen here.

Last week I finished Anita Diamant’s The Red Tent, which was interesting but not life-changing. At church Sunday, Mother’s Day, the minister talked about little known heroines of the Bible, and my mind went directly to Judith taking out Holofernes with a tent stake, but she didn’t come up.

Took another dip into History of Christianity–over my lunch the author was talking about Aristotle’s influence on the early Church fathers, and seemed to imply that the early church wasn’t as afraid of science as the noisiest part of the current church is.

So, knitting: I used the long US4s to finish the knitting part of the booties for the baby who’s being showered Saturday:

This was the first one I knit, back in April (on the short 4s if I remember right, if we’re not all tired of talking about them)–laid out flat they look like a mask, or a pair of men’s Y-fronts. I will have to undo the bindoff and redo it in pattern, to make them stretchier.

I also finished the knitting on an Eloping:

An Eloping? is that how you say it? the pattern is Eloping, from Knitty, but the item is a garter. In keeping with the clandestine nature of an elopement, this is a secret project, for a friend who’s happily dating and hoping things go far enough that a garter might be needed. Can’t knit with fingers crossed for her, so I’m just knitting for her.

The patron cat of knitting there is Sally, who is at least 16 years old, and ignores yarn unless it’s danced in front of her face. T’other cat, Sukey, is a yarn chewer, so the knitting at my house has to be neatly bundled or constantly supervised.

This entry was posted in Actual Knitting Content, Literatuesday, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

