Literatuesday: thanks Amazon!

So I saw on Amazon that the latest Sookie Stackhouse book, Dead in the Family, was $9.99. For that it doesn’t make sense to wait for the paperback! One of the things I like about the Sookie Stackhouse books is the development of the characters–the adventures in the previous books have left their mark on Sookie, but she’s not one to wring her hands. I admit to being a Sam-n-Sookie ‘shipper, like the FanKids would say, so I’m still waiting for them to get smacked by the cosmic dopeslap and get together.

Of course I had to order a few more things to qualify for free shipping. Got the DVD of the Amanda Root/Ciaran Hinds Persuasion at last–only in my queue for six years or so! In the last Craftlit podcast Heather Ordover told us how to pronouce Ciaran, which I confess I’ve forgotten, but it’s not like it’s spelled. The woman who’s reading Persuasion, recorded for Librivox, I think, has a lovely voice, really a pleasure to listen to. I bought the Craftlit app for iPod so I could get to the back episodes easily, so I’ve started Jekyll and Hyde too.

The other item was A Cuff Above by Cynthia Guggemos. I have a number of other sock books, but beautiful as Socks East and West and Joy of Sox and Cookie A’s book whose title I forget are, the patterns are mostly aspirational for my knitting skills–the patterns in A Cuff Above look doable without being boring. The yarns used are given by weight, not by a particular brand or colorway, though the yarns used in the photos are listed in the back of the book. The instructions are so thorough they even include row-by-row directions for a gauge swatch, and the patterns come in multiple sizes.

Today’s knitting: I’ve finished the heel flap and heel turn on the second multicolor vanilla sock, and should be picking up the gusset at lunch. The other sock is done except for grafting the toe, which will require a bit of time and concentration I haven’t had at my disposal for a few days.

This entry was posted in Actual Knitting Content, Knitting books, Literatuesday, Podcasts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

