Birthday weekend: not born to be wild

You know, right, that you should never start a trip saying "I have a GPS, I can't get lost!"

You know that, right?

So Saturday morning I started driving to Oak Ridge TN, to see some friends. There are two routes, directly over the mountains, or over to Atlanta, up to Chattanooga, then back east.

Unfortunately the road over the mountains the GPS thought I should take was closed, as I discovered after I had taken half of it. This half of road, I learned, is called the Dragon's Tail, and it's so well known among bikers and Porsche drivers that a number of photographers had set up on the side of the road to take pictures of the enthusiastic drivers.

To be fair, looking at the bikers, I thought if I met one on the side of the road I'd be more likely to be snubbed by a web developer on wheels than menaced by someone with a size in his name–I was more scared of the Porsche drivers, who really could run me off the road. The only radio station I could get was THE HOG who were having a remote broadcast from Tattoos by Bruce.

As I drove down the mountain my GPS kept insisting I make a U-turn. It insisted I make a U-turn for the next four hours. At one point I was in a Wendy's in some small town, using their wireless to email my friends via my iPod that I'd be late, and I realized that I was packing more computational power than had been used to send a man to the moon, but I couldn't use it to get over the Smokies. Fortunately I had my road atlas in the car, though of the stretch when I confused I-165s East and West let us say nothing.

During my drive through the Joyce Kilmer National Forest (unendorsed by the GPS, which still wanted me to make a U-turn) it started to rain buckets. I passed many clumps of motorcycle riders in the scenic overlooks, huddled in their soaking riding leathers.

One of my birthday presents was a new camera. It has a "Food" setting.

When I got home, there were two birthday cakes not made by me:

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Birthday weekend: not born to be wild

  1. whiskers says:

    Glad you got over the mountains! And those cakes look teh yummy…

  2. pyrl says:

    Happy Birthday, Peg!You were driving through my old neighborhood. I do not miss those mountains.

  3. mariser says:

    horrifying story; glad it has a happy ending. and how nice of Sukey's cousing Scout to be waiting at the end

  4. snoringKatZ says:

    All's well that ends with cake! 🙂

  5. Lauri says:

    Oh drat…I'm sorry I missed this!It's great…because my GPS was telling me "Uturn Uturn Uturn" on one of our remote gravelly roads here, too, just last week. I just laughed at it.You had an adventure and you made it safely! SO glad you had a good trip and a good birthday! I love the Food setting on your camera! 😉

Leave a Reply

