Is that a swatch I see before me?

I started knitting because I had just finished putting on a writing conference and had extra time on my hands, and because the computer games I was playing were eating up my wrists (no really cool games, just in the Tetris family of time-eaters). What shall I do? I thought. I’ll take up knitting! But knit what? I pictured big bulky sweaters that made me look like a mushroom, and thought no…Wait! I’ll knit socks!

So I started with a scarf, and went on to a couple of lap blankets, and then it started to be warm weather, and I didn’t want to be working on great big rectangles in 90F temps, so I took my first trip to my LYS and Ruth the lovely owner put a copy of 101 One-Skein Wonders in my hands, and now I have dozens of small projects and a pretty serious yarn problem.

I think that picture is a year or so old. It’s worse now.

So I’ve been knitting since 2007, resisting the notion of the gauge swatch as much as possible (I told people that starting a project three times over worked just as well), and now…I do feel the need to try a sweater, hopefully not bulky and shapeless (and yes, yes, I have seen many lovely patterns that are neither bulky nor shapeless). I’ve made a couple of baby sweaters, and I found CosmicPlutoKnit’s Basic Raglan Cardigan, and I got some really good coupons from Michaels, so I bought three skeins of Fisherman’s Wool and cast on (yes, I have sweaters’ worths of yarn already, but I bought more, so I wouldn’t spend what I have in pursuit of a project I wasn’t sure about. I like to have my yarn and knit it too). So we’ll see what happens.

I thought the Fisherman’s Wool on US8 needles was a little tight, but it loosened up considerably after a soak and light blocking. And if I make a sweater I’m steps closer to the Full Suit of Handknits: Hat, Scarf, Sweater, Gloves, Socks, and possibly a bag of some kind.

This entry was posted in Actual Knitting Content, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

