A tale of two sockies

These are the socks I sent my brother for his birthday:

He told me he wore the ones I knit him for Christmas to an outdoor hockey game and they kept his feet toasty warm, so his prize for telling me is another pair. They’re knit in Cascade 220 Superwash, based on the pattern Thuja from Knitty. The label is just a photo I took in an aptly-named variety store, cropped to 3.5″ x 10.5″–they’re thick socks!

These are the socks I finished this morning, from yarn I bought on my birthday:

Do you see the toes? Properly grafted! which I managed by reading the instructions and following them. Imagine! My brother’s socks were not the first I’ve made with a garter stitch graft–I was just calling it a design feature–I believe I was putting the needle knitwise when it shoulda gone purlwise and vice versa. I don’t know if that means I accidentally know how to graft garter stitch, though.

This entry was posted in Actual Knitting Content, Embarrassing Confessions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A tale of two sockies

  1. elizabethannewrites says:

    That “reading the instructions and following them” sounds like a scary precedent to set. Too “out there” for me.

Leave a Reply

