I am allowed out without a helmet. Really.

A couple days ago I ordered a pair of shoes online. I was expecting them to be delivered today and was disappointed when I didn’t see a box waiting at my door. After dinner I got a call from my mother: “Why did you send me a pair of shoes?”

Because the last time I ordered from this place I was sending her a coat. I told her to try the shoes on if she liked them but she said she’d send them on to me. They’re purple.

Can you guess what this is?

Braaaain?

This week I had the urge to make jello from scratch. The picture is unflavored gelatin softening before you add the rest of the ingredients.

This tastes better than it looks.

I used fresh lemon juice and strawberries pureed in the food processor. You can taste the strawberries up front then the lemon catches you in the back of the throat, in a good way.

I used the Lemon Berry Gelatin recipe in Retro Desserts by Wayne Harley Brachman as a starting point. No skills needed beyond boiling water and juicing the fruit, but the difference in taste is between a strawberry and a strawberry Lifesaver–totally worth doing, at least once!

This entry was posted in Embarrassing Confessions, Half-Baked Goods. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I am allowed out without a helmet. Really.

  1. Redscylla says:

    Ooooooh, homemade strawberry gelatin sounds awesome.

    • pegoftilling says:

      Totally worth doing! I don’t have the book in front of me, but if I remember right:

      2 cups juice (I used about a pound of berries, and womped them in the food processor until there was no fight in ’em)
      2 packets flavorless gelatin
      2 cups water, divided
      3/4 cup sugar
      1/2 tsp vanilla

      Put 1/4 cup cold water in a large bowl and add the gelatin to soften. Boil the rest of the water and the sugar. When it’s boiling, add to the softened gelatin, then add the fruit juice and vanilla. Chill till solid.

  2. Lauri says:

    It does sound good!

  3. lurkertype says:

    There’s always room for Jello, esp. homemade.

    My mother would never turn down a pair of shoes. It was a great tragedy for me that her feet were a size to a size and a half smaller than mine so that I couldn’t inherit. I’d have had a lifetime supply.

Leave a Reply

