Math fail

So last week was my brother’s birthday, so I called, and left a message on his machine: “Happy 49th birthday!” Foreshadowing: he was born in 1961.

So later I get him on the phone, and we talk, and then we hang up, and then 10 minutes later he calls back to say “I just heard your message, and I’m only 48.”

“Good,” I say, “That means I’m only 46.”

Okay, so then I realized, I thought I was 46 all last year, but now I’m 46 again, sort of. Did I miss being 45? Did I gain an extra year? Feels weird.

 

How old am I, anyway?

 

 

This entry was posted in Embarrassing Confessions. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Math fail

  1. snoringKatZ says:

    I don’t know the answer but I’m older than you so I win! HA!

  2. lauowolf says:

    I know.
    I have to count on my fingers and do algebra.
    (2010 -1951, + have I had my birthday yet this year.)
    So, I’m….
    Um.
    Still 58?
    I think I need pencil and paper for this.

  3. lurkertype says:

    I am older than you, but younger than your brother.

    At one point in my twenties, I had myself two years younger. Luckily, hubby is excellent at math and pointed this out.

  4. pyrit says:

    Back to the Future, baby!

    I did that once in my thirties. It was great. And ever since, I’ve never been sure how old I am. It shows I know.

    Nice blog, Peg. Good to see ya.

Leave a Reply

