Hats and math

First there was the Turkey Viking Hat:

One leg is crooked. Shh. Don't tell.

Then there was the fish hat:

Confused cat is confused

And this year, for my nephew’s birthday, I’m working on a big green striped stocking hat:

NO CHEW! NO CHEW!

The pattern says the finished hat “should hit a 6’4″ man at his rump,” and that’s how tall my nephew is. I expect to be able to put the brim of the hat on the floor and touch my nose with the tassel. His dad used to wear stocking caps (not such long ones) when he was a kid. The nephew will be 18 this year so I think we’re all feeling a bit maudlin.

I knew there had to be a way to figure out how many rows the hat would have, but I felt like a cat hunting an emu*: it’s a bird…gotta be a way to bring it down….but… so I posted the question on Twitter and Facebook: I have to decrease 96 stitches by 2 stitches every 6 rows til I get to 6 stitches. How many rows do I knit?

Drude came up with the answer and made it look easy: 270. I posed the same question to a poet and he had to go away and think about it for a bit, but came back with “270! You’re taking 45 steps down!” As I write I have decreased to about 80 stitches, so I have a ways to go.

*This was actually witnessed by some friends of mine: they lived in the country and a wandering emu** stopped by for a couple of days. Their cat was intrigued.

**When I first moved to Georgia there was a news story about a guy who tried and failed at emu farming, so he let all his emus go in the woods because he thought they would make good game animals. The EPA objected. I do not know if this emu was related to that incident.

This entry was posted in Actual Knitting Content. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hats and math

  1. *laughing myself silly thinking about that cat* Lololololololol!! Ahahahahahahh! *breath* ahahhhahhahahahahaha! *sob* Damn. That’s hysterical.

  2. Lauri says:

    I lol’d about the turkey hat! SOOOOO cute!! I just love it!

    I love your knitting and your cats!

  3. Jaypo says:

    All your hats are adorable, Peg! Don’t tell me your nephew is only 15 and 6’4″…?!

    LOL LOL @ your cat’s eye view of emus! 😀

  4. lurkertype says:

    Does nephew actually wear these wacky hats out and about? Will he be taking them to college to astound and delight his new friends? I’d have been intrigued by a tall good-looking boy with interesting hats at that age.

    “like a cat hunting an emu” is a simile that should be used more often.

    • pegoftilling says:

      I’ve been told he wore the turkey hat to a snowball fight, where one of his friends found it “confusing,” whatever that meant, but he wore the fish hat to the state high school football championships, which was in daylight and in a large peer group, so that’s quite flattering.

  5. snoringKatZ says:

    Fantastic hats! I don’t know how Drude did the math. Totally beyond me. Then again, pattern-following is totally beyond me, too. That’s why most of my projects end up snarled balls of pulled stitches. That’s okay – you make up for me 🙂

    Some years ago, a few guys put an ostrich in the backyard of a local news reporter. It was just before I started at animal control. It took six of them 10 hours to catch that bird and it really only came about because two zoo people showed up to help them. The stories of the roundup are legendary. Maybe they should have tried cats.

  6. amyhftw says:

    I love the hats. Even more I love the fact your nephew loves them and wears them out and about.

Leave a Reply

