Llama says hello


Llama

Originally uploaded by U-EET

A camera is not treetz.

This weekend I went to the Southeast Animal Fiber Fair, in Asheville, SC.

 

Yarn shopping!

 

This was the second time I’ve gone–it seemed more overwhelming last year, but I don’t know whether that was because it was new or because it was bigger. A stern look at my yarn closet convinced me I didn’t need more, but there were yarn accessories as well: I bought a project bag, some needles, and a nostepinne, a peg for winding balls of yarn.

There were bunnies:

 

Bunny!

Bunny!

 

The bunnies are sheared and their fur is spun into miracles. One of the vendors had a box of fiber to touch, and it was something out of dreams. I assured the sheared bunny he was still handsome.

There were also alpaca:

 

Hi! I'm new here!

There’s some bad video of this little guy here and here and here if you want to hear what alpaca sound like (llamas are strong and silent). His mama stayed between him and the fence.

Hi! Hi! Hi!

Some of the farmers had llama chow available for feeding treetz. Their lips are soft and snuffle on your hand. There was always one llama in the pen who got the Treet Thing better than the others, so he got most of them.

Llama allows a nose boop

We started the day at the Wellbred Bakery just outside Asheville. The sandwiches were good but the desserts made me weep.

There should be votive candles burning in front of this case.

It took three of us to finish one of those eclairs. The other bakery patrons seemed to take the awesomeness in stride, but I’m afraid that for librarians we were not entirely quiet about our enjoyment.

Mercy.

In fact, when we went to dinner the cashier looked at us and said, “Did I see you somewhere this morning? You look familiar.” I said, “The bakery?” and she said “Oh yeah!” So I don’t want to use the words Harry Met Sally about us and the eclair but we just might have made a bit of a spectacle of ourselves.

Dinner.

The Moose Cafe has all you can eat barbecue on Saturday nights, but we were still too full for seconds.

 

This entry was posted in Adventures, Yarn Shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Llama says hello

  1. Jaypo says:

    I love fiber fairs and always spent too much money on supplies for projects I haven’t even planned yet! I went to a rug-hooking store yesterday with sispo and bought some wool to add to my already vast collection cut strips. *sigh* I’ve made one rug and need to start planning my next soon! Wool is a winter treat, even though it’s not edible.

  2. brownamazon says:

    Apparently, alpaca farming is big in Kentucky…there was a farmers’ market and we saw lots of people selling “locally-raised” alpaca yarn and all kinds of knitted weard.

  3. brownamazon says:

    um, that would be wares, not “weard”…weird!

  4. lurkertype says:

    Sounds like a great day! Awesome food, cute furry animals and shopping, what more could you ask for?

    Alpaca leeeps!

  5. Lauri says:

    Awwwww! The bebe alpacas!!! I’ll have to show those vids to Ashlee….she loves alpacas. And then she will try to talk me into adopting a couple! 😉

    Such fun! Such cute soft aminals and delicious fuds!

  6. snoringKatZ says:

    What a wonderful adventure! Fuzzy critters, softy yarnies and FOOOOD! Perfect 🙂

Leave a Reply

