What’s up with Sally?

Sally is old.

Sally came to me in 1996, and the vet estimated she was 2-3 years old then, so she’s probably somewhere between 16 and 18 now. Just after Christmas she was very sick, so I took her to the vet, where she had her teeth cleaned, including three extractions, and she perked up after that (can you tell a cat is healthy from day to the next just by her fur? amazing) but after our big snow I noticed she wasn’t eating, which for Sally is WRONG, so back to the vet, where she had a bag of fluids and came home with some appetite stimulant pills, which kinda work, a little. Her spine and hips and shoulders are very prominent, and we’ve had a couple of litterbox fails this week, but she’s still demanding and stubborn. Yesterday she wanted to go outside, but today she just wanted to sleep on the box under the desk.

I haven’t wanted to write about this because it makes it realer to talk about it. I have fallen asleep with her purring in my ear for the past fifteen years.

I figure since I can’t make her young, I can at least try to keep her happy and comferbuhls–do you all have any old cat advice? Is there some kind of post-surgery thing I haven’t caught?

Sukey has been bratty since Sally went in for the teeth cleaning, like a two year old who needs reassurance, but she joined us on the bed last night, so that was nice.

This entry was posted in The Girls. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What’s up with Sally?

  1. snoringKatZ says:

    Oh, Peg – I’m sorry Ms. Sally is making your heart ouchie.

  2. Laurie says:

    Oh, dear, too many peeps’ pets are being worrisome! Maybe you could inquire with your vet if a “recovery diet” food will help her? It’s higher calorie.

  3. Lurkertype says:

    High calorie extreeeeeeeemely gooshyfud is my only suggestion. We used it on our kitteh when he was old and not eating.

    Poor old floofball.

  4. littlemiao says:

    I agree with Laurie about looking into the recovery diet food.

    Ping had a toof-cleaning with extractions a year and a half ago, and after that he wouldn’t eat. He developed pancreatitis, which may have been triggered by the lack of food. We managed to coax him into eating some of the recovery diet food, but after a couple days he stopped liking it. Finally, we bought canned salmon from the co-op and he couldn’t resist that. It took a while to wean him from the salmon back to normal cat food (with the added nutrients for cats) because he liked it so much. It took him a few months to recover fully. Now he gets a monthly vitamin shot (we do it ourselves).

    It’s so hard with kitties growing old. đŸ˜¦ Ping’s about the same age as Sally, 17, and he’s doing great now. He put all his weight back on, plus some. I know you’ll figure out how to make Sally happy and comferbuhls. The Miao Brothers & I are sending her warm, purry, high calorie thoughts.

    • Lurkertype says:

      That was my other suggestion — feed her anything she’ll eat. We also did that with our old boy.

      Toonas, chicknz, kitty treats; just get her to NOM again. And keep the hydration up.

  5. Jaypo says:

    everything they said ^ ^ up there, Peg. I didn’t realize Sally was such an old girl… tell Sukie to behave herself. Yankee lived to 19 and was eating grilled chicken on her last day. Comfterbls is the best we can do for them. I used to put Yankgoo in the litterbox, wait for her to use it, then lift her out. Cut down on some of the misses. (((Hugs))) to you and Sally.

  6. Laurie says:

    You could try pureed meat baby food, too. I’ve tried that on cats who weren’t interested in regular foodz.

  7. LBeeeze says:

    You’ve gotten so much really GREAT advice, so I’m sending warm thoughts.

  8. arbed says:

    Silly Sally, eat your fuds! I’ve been lucky with Edgar and age, so far. Other than his pickiness with the introduction of senior food, he’s been pretty good. Of course, I worry at every little thing, thinking this is a “sign”, but nothing has gotten to that yet. I’ve heard all of the above advice before, so I say go for it and good luck to all of you. Feel better, Sally!

  9. aubrey says:

    Having no pets, I can’t offer any concrete advice – except to offer Miss Sally much love and much sleep-time on splendid, colorful quilts.

Leave a Reply

