We had a really good afternoon

It was warm for January and sunny, so I brought Sally outside. Her legs were weak but she staggered to the back of the yard to relive her early triumph of sliding under the fence to freedom (or at least the neighbor’s yard–she was damn mad when I fetched her back) and then she napped in a pile of leaves near the house. A couple of little lizards skittered around her as they set up housekeeping under the siding but she didn’t notice.

When the time came for her appointment she went into the box without fuss, and in the vet’s office she wanted to get down long enough to explore, as she did every other time we visited. When the vet came to look at her she laid down on a towel and the end came soon enough.

Everyone was very kind. The vet (not the one who did the teeth cleaning) found an ugly lump in her belly, under her very prominent ribs; he thought she might have passed away in the night if I hadn’t brought her in. After the final injections her heart beat long enough to surprise him.

And so my great grey cat is gone. She picked me, back in ’95 or 6; I didn’t think I could have a second cat but she said she liked the name Sally and then curled up on the futon, and that was all there was to it. She was with me through a lot. Now she’s in a new home.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to We had a really good afternoon

  1. arbed says:

    Big hugs and love to you and Sukey. Rest well, beautiful Sally.

  2. snoringKatZ says:

    So sorry, dear Peg. My wish for you and Sukey is that together you can feel Sally with you, in your hearts and in her favorite places with only love once the tears finish their work.

  3. Laurie says:

    Oh, lovely Sally, I’m truly sorry to see you leave us.
    Big hugs to you, P o’ T for being brave along with her.

  4. Lurkertype says:

    Stubborn till the end, I see.

    At least she’s got Tater, who needs herself a kitty up there.

    How’s Sukey taking it? Upset, or happy that the noms are all hers now, or just confused?

    The last evening our old kitty was with us, we let him roam along the street, and walk around his backyard. He found a toad and whacked it on the head repeatedly to make it hop a couple feet to the right. Then back to the left. Repeat.

    ((Peg))

  5. Drude says:

    (((Peg))) so sorry, so sad.

  6. I’m so sorry for you honey. But I’m glad you made a good team while you had each other. *hugs*

  7. Marie says:

    So sorry to hear about Sally. Also sorry I never got to meet her. Richard and I wish you comforting hugs. Snuggle with Sukey.

  8. littlemiao says:

    *hugs* I am so sorry.

  9. brownamazon says:

    So very sorry. So much sadness in the ‘hood this week. Hugs and pats to you and Sukey.

  10. pyrit says:

    Dear Peg, Sukey, and Sally. I’m so sorry your threesome is a twosome.
    My friend’s kitty is not well either. A very sick, very young (2 yrs.) cat and my friend is also very sad today.
    One of my cats was very special. I lost him years ago and still can’t hardly talk about it.
    I’m happy for you that you had a good afternoon. That’s important.

  11. LBeeeze says:

    I’m so sorry. So glad you had a good afternoon together. How nice that she could enjoy some sunshine.

    Take care.

  12. mariser says:

    Sally always reminded me of Gandalf the Grey. I can see her atop Shadowfax, bound towards the unknown country.
    our thoughts are with you

  13. Jaypo says:

    My deepest sympathy on this shared loss. Sally will live on in our hearts if not in Sukey’s… Many hugs, Peg.

  14. Lauri says:

    I, too, wish to leave my condolences. I missed that Sally was sick.
    She was a beautiful soul and will greet so many of our furkids where she has gone.

    Big big hugs, Diane!

  15. aubrey says:

    Please forgive my lateness and ignorance.

    I hope this late note of sorrow doesn’t re-awaken yours, but I had to step in and say how sorry I am that your beautiful girl has left for her home in the sky.

    Edward was named after a hero, and I know that he will be yours too.

Leave a Reply

